Butler County Place Names‎ > ‎F‎ > ‎

Franklin Township

Franklin Township -- named for Benjamin Franklin -- is in northwestern Warren County. It was one of the four original townships formed May 10, 1803. March 1, 1815, the Ohio General Assembly transferred part of Butler County to Franklin Twp. in Warren County (including Jersey Settlement, later renamed Carlisle). The township also included the City of Franklin, founded in 1796 by Ge. William C. Schenck and also named for Benjamin Franklin. Parts of the cities of Middletown and Springboro also are in Franklin Twp. Other communities include Hunter and Chautauqua. Blue Ball, now a part of Middletown, straddled the Butler-Warren line and was partially in Franklin Twp. (See Warren County, Chautauqua and Carlisle.)

Return to Index