Butler County Place Names‎ > ‎D‎ > ‎

Deerfield Township

Deerfield Township is one of the original four townships formed in Warren County May 10, 1803. It is in the southwest corner of the county, bordering on two Butler County townships, West Chester (formerly Union) and Liberty. The City of Mason withdrew from Deerfield Twp. in the 1990s. Other existing and former communities within the township include Kings Mills, Fosters, Foster's Crossing, Socialville, Landen, Twenty Mile Stand, Loveland Park, Snidercrest, Bowyer, Milthompson, Scottsville and Unity. Kings Mills was originally known as Gainesboro or Gainsborough. Mason was formerly known as Kirkwood, Palmira and Palmyra. Socialville was formerly known as Mormontown. Regarding the latter, Rose Marie Springman in her 1982 book, Around Mason, Ohio, A Story said:

"An area south of Mason began to be called Mormontown by local people after two Mormon missionaries, father and son named Lamaree, from Nauvoo, Ill., came to the area and expounded their doctorines so well that they made many converts." (See Warren County, Kings Mills and Mason. See Coney Island for information on Kings Island.)

Return to Index