Butler County Place Names‎ > ‎D‎ > ‎


Deerfield -- now South Lebanon -- was one of the first settlements (1795) in Warren County. Proprietors were Benjamin Stites, Benjamin Stites Jr. and John Stites Gano. The web site of the Warren County Genealogical Society says Deerfield was "named for deer licks in the area" and a "post office established Jan. 1, 1805, with Ephriam Kibbey." The same web site says the "name was changed when the railroad was built. Post office established July 28, 1871, as South Lebanon with John Cooper postmaster." The Village of South Lebanon web site says the town "was settled in 1795, which makes our village the oldest in Warren County. South Lebanon missed being the county seat by one vote. The House Speaker of the State of Ohio voted to break the tie between South Lebanon and Lebanon. The House Speaker voted for Lebanon and the rest is history."

Return to Index