Home



 

Thomas W. Harvey High School Summer Reading Program

 

All students entering grades 9-12 English classes at HHS are required to read over summer break. ALL students must choose a book from a list of titles made available at each grade level. Additionally, Honors students at each grade level must choose a second book to read.  All title lists are sorted by grade level and available by clicking the tabs above.


ALL STUDENTS WILL TURN IN A TYPED ESSAY ON THE FIRST DAY OF CLASS. HONORS STUDENTS WILL ALSO SUBMIT THE AESTHETIC RESPONSE PROJECT FOR THEIR SECOND BOOK.

 

  1. ALL STUDENTS Grades 9-12: Select one novel from the list for your grade level.  Then choose one of the seven essay prompts and construct a well-written, organized, and insightful essay that thoroughly addresses the prompt chosen.  Essays should be 2-3 pages and follow MLA formatting guidelines. 

 

  1. HONORS STUDENTS Grades 9-11: In addition to the 2-3 page essay above, honors students will select a second book to read.  The Aesthetic Response for the second book will be collected on the first day of school as well.
Enjoy!
See you next year,
Harvey High School English Department
 
Ben Armbruster, Department Chair - ben.armbruster@pcls.net
Lumar Anaya - lumar.anaya@pcls.net
Colleen Bergmann - colleen.bergmann@pcls.net
Nicole Byers - nicole.byers@pcls.net
Sharon Koncilja - sharon.koncilja@pcls.net 
Erica Houston - erica.millirons@pcls.net
Marlene Johnson - marlene.johnson@pcls.net
Kathleen Turkall - kathleen.turkall@pcls.net
 

 

 
ĉ
Nicole Byers,
Jul 11, 2013, 7:36 AM
Comments