The first schoolhouse in Coal Creek Canyon existed along Twin Spruce Road in 1890. Over the next 20 years enrollment hovered at 10 to 15 students. Two of the prominent families in Coal Creek Canyon, who had children attending the school, were the Bengsons and the Brumms. August Brumm became the secretary of Jefferson County School District No. 27 in 1916.
The original schoolhouse is still standing and is now the living room of a private residence. Coal Creek Canyon's School District No. 27 changed names during this period and was known as the Columbine School District.
A second Columbine schoolhouse was built in 1922. From 1935 to 1951 a school existed along Plainview road near Highway 72. For a period of time in the 50's children were bused to schools in Arvada and Golden.
The current school was built in 1962 at 11719 Ranch Elsie Road. An addition to the current elementary school, which showcases the beautiful mountain setting and houses the school administrative offices and library, was built in 2003-2004. Coal Creek Canyon K-8 school is a Jefferson County elementary and middle school.