Minnesota State Testing

Standards-Based Accountability Assessments
The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCA) and alternate assessments Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS) are the state tests that help districts measure student progress toward Minnesota's academic standards.

Students take one test in each subject. Most students take the MCA, but students who receive special education services and meet eligibility requirements may take the alternate assessment MTAS instead.

The list below shows tests by subject along with the grades they are given. 

Reading: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 10)
Mathematics: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 11)
Science: MCA or MTAS (grades 5, 8, 10)

English Language Proficiency Accountability Assessments
The ACCESS for ELLs and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs are the assessments developed by the WIDA consortium and administered to English learners in order to measure progress toward meeting Minnesota's standards for English language development.

MCA's, ACCESS for ELLs and other local assessments testing dates are detailed on the Testing Calendar in the sidebar menu.

Link to Minnesota Department of Education webpage with additional information for parents on testing HERE.