Please visit our new website at

We are happy to announce our board for the upcoming 2020-2021 school year. Congratulations!


President: Trina Estrada-Good

1st Vice President: Jennifer Benecke

2nd Vice President: Julie Shepard

Treasurer: Robert Williams

Recording Secretary: VACANT

Corresponding Secretary: Maryanne MacVicar

FCPS is expanding the grab and go meal sites in our area.  For a complete list of meal distribution sites and details, please visit Breakfast is served from 8:00-10:30 AM and lunch is served from 10:30 AM-2:00 PM. Please visit Koinonia Foundation at 6037 Franconia Rd. for further assistance.


Welcome to Hayfield SS PTSA. You can access the 2019-2020 membership form by following this link.
Please also read our Welcome Letter to the 2019-2020 school year. 

Follow us on Facebook (hssptsa) and Twitter (@hssptsa)!

HSS PTSA Monthly Meetings
2019 - 2020

HSS PTSA Meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 6:30pm in the Media Center (library), unless otherwise indicated. Below are the dates for 2019-2020.

 September 12, 2019 March 19, 2020
 October 10, 2019 April 16, 2020
 November 14, 2019 April 30, 2020
 January 9, 2020 June 4, 2020
 February 13, 2020 


The Hayfield Secondary School (HSS) Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA) is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization committed to supporting and providing those resources that help all Hayfield Secondary parents, teachers, staff and students meet the school's stated mission -- which is to provide a strong academic environment to meet the educational needs of a diverse school population where academic success is paramount, as well as to maintain and enhance a learning atmosphere of respect for self and others. The HSS PTSA's affiliation with state and national PTA organizations, as well as its authority, purpose and other organizational policies and procedures are defined in its bylaws.


The PTSA supports a wide variety of programs that benefit students, parents, teachers and staff. The PTSA uses your Membership dues and donations to:

  • Provide academic, technological and cultural support in the school community for students, teachers, and parents
  • Award Teacher Mini-grants to support school staff and improve student learning
  • Support In-School Programs such as Student2Student, HSS Food Pantry, Student Government activities, Science Fair, H2N
  • Recognize student achievement with Academic Letters/Pins, National and Junior National Honor Society Receptions, Senior Scholarships
  • Sponsor the National PTA Reflections Art Program and All Night Grad Party (ANGP) event
  •  Help students earn service hours through PTSA meetings and events
  • Assist with student registration and field trip expenses with funds from BOX TOP collections
  • Show appreciation for our teachers with a Welcome Back to School Breakfast in August and a Staff Appreciation Luncheon in May
  • Sponsor the Military Families Connect program, providing assistance to military families transitioning into our school community
  • Advocate for our school community and much, much, more!
Please complete our 2019-20 PTSA Membership Form, and follow the instructions on it for submitting your membership fee.

HSSPTSA Executive Board 

The following slate of PTSA board members was elected to serve for the 2019-2020 school year. As you can see, we have some vacancies for the coming school year. If you have experience or are interested in helping out with one of these positions or related PTSA committees, please contact the PTSA president, Heidi Frego, for additional details.

President Heidi Frego
1st Vice President (HS) Maryanne MacVicar
2nd Vice President (MS) Nohelia Lewis
Treasurer Rosalynd Keys
Corresponding Secretary Karen Harrell
Recording Secretary Bob Williams
Membership Co-Chairs Samrawit Tefera

Dallas Moore
2020 ANGP
(All Night Grad Party!)
Dahlia Graham
Karen Coburn
Hospitality Co-Chairs Julie Uyen Do

Marlow Townes
Acadmic Boosters/
Mini-Grants, Scholarships
Kim Torrance
Military Families ConnectJulie Shepard
Band BoostersVacant
Choral Boosters Vacant
Drama BoostersKaren Patrick
Orchestra BoostersAndrea Gurrola
Combined Federal Campaign (CFC) Chair Paul Otto
eScrip/Boxtops for Education Co-Chairs Alisa Biache

Lisa Cardinal
Fundraising Co-Chairs Trina Estrada-Good

Gwen King
Volunteer Coordinator Summer von Stein
Legislative/Advocacy        Julie Shepard
Reflections Chair Tammy Grunkemeyer
Facebook AdminJulie Shepard
Twitter Admin

Nohelia Lewis
Web Site Heather Bennett
Special Education PTASara Yezefski (MS)

Jenn Benecke (HS)
HSS Teacher/
Staff Liaison
Must be a HSS staff member
SGA Reps Maggie LeGendre

Cece Lamoreau
HSS Principal Martin Grimm
Immediate Past President Purvis Dawson

HSS PTSA and FCPS Calendars

Fair Use Notice

This web site may at times present copyrighted material, the use of which might not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Such material is made available in an effort to advance understandings of educational, democratic, economic, environmental, human rights, political, scientific, and social justice issues, among others. The Editor believes that this constitutes a “fair use” of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the U. S. Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the articles published on this website are distributed without profit for research and educational purposes.

Subpages (1): Reflections