Hillside Club Concert Series

Welcome to The Berkeley Hillside Club Concert Series. Our goal is to provide a superb venue for musicians and listeners to experience the joy of live music performance. Come join us in our historic and acoustically excellent hall and see why artists and audiences are raving about our Concert Series.

Our concerts are open to the public and generally begin at 8:00 pm (Sunday concerts usually start at 7:00 pm) but please check the individual concert listing for the exact time. Our doors usually open about an hour before show time.

TICKETS: Unless otherwise indicated, tickets for our concerts are only available at the door on the evening of the performance.
We have no advance ticket sales or reservations.  We accept cash or checks but NOT credit cards.

MAILING LIST: To receive timely announcements of up-coming concerts and other news, click here to sign up for our email list.     (note: if you use a spam filter on your incoming email, be sure to add the address:   concerts@hillsideclub.org   to your white list).

QUESTIONS: If you have any questions or comments regarding our Concert Series, feel free to write to concerts@hillsideclub.org

PAST CONCERTS: Our Concert Series presents an eclectic mix of musical genres and artists; to see a list of past concerts click here.

Note: Upcoming concerts are listed here in chronological order.
Please scroll down to see all upcoming concerts

Sergey Musaelyan
Piano Recital

Friday 15 July 2016 at 8:00pm

Admission: $20 general, $15 students & seniors, $10 Hillside Club members
The Berkeley Hillside Club
2286 Cedar Street
Berkeley 94709
Info: 510-845-1350

The Berkeley Hillside Club is honored to present the brilliant Russian pianist, Sergey Musaelyan, performing classics from three centuries, including sonatas from Haydn and Prokofiev, as well as pieces by Chopin.  Don't miss this remarkable artist performing in our historic and acoustically-excellent hall.

The Artist:

Sergey Musaelyan
- piano

About the Program:


The Program:

    Josef Haydn
            Keyboard Sonata No.47 in B minor, Hob.XVI:32

    Sergei Prokofiev
            Piano Sonata No.7 in B♭ Major, Op.83

    Frederick Chopin
            Ballade No.1 in G minor, Op.23
            4 Preludes, Op.28
            Scherzo No.2 in B♭ minor, Op.31

About the Artist:

The internationally acclaimed Russian pianist, Sergey Musaelyan, was born in 1950, to a respected piano teacher in the Moscow Central Music School for gifted and talented children, which he attended. After graduation he entered the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory and studied there under the celebrated pianist, Jakob Flier, whose tradition of performing and teaching he has since pursued. He is an Honored Artist of Russia and the winner of numerous International piano competitions. He has performed solo recitals and concertos with orchestras in some of the most prestigious concert halls in the world, and under the baton of such conductors as Vladimir Ashkenazi, Valery Georgiev and many others. Musaelyan was named the Person of the Year by the US Biography Reference Center in 1995, and was featured in the 2012 documentary film. "Pianism," by Ivan Tverdovsky

there will be lots more great music coming up over the coming weeks and months:

Sun 24 Jul - Victor Romasevich & Friends play Arensky & Taneyev - Piano/String Quintets
Fri 30 Jul - Hillside Chamber Wind Ensemble play Honegger, Bozza, & Andriasov - chamber music
Sat 6 Aug - Berkeley Choro Ensemble w/Howard Alden - Brazilian choro

...and we'll post more info here as it becomes available.