Harnett County Board of Education
1008 11th Street, Lillington, North Carolina 27546
Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 1029, Lillington, North Carolina  27546

The Harnett County Board of Education consists of five members; each elected on a partisan ballot by the people for a four-year term.  The County is divided into five political districts with one Board of Education member from each district.  A Board member must live in the district for the position held but must be elected by the majority of citizens voting in that district.  The Board is the policy-making body for the Harnett County Schools. 

Meetings of the Board are conducted in the Lillington Education Center at 900 Eleventh Street, Lillington.  Regular meetings are held on the first Monday of each month.  The time and/or date of a regular meeting may be changed by resolution of the Board adopted and filed with the Secretary at least seven (7) days prior to the new date and the previously scheduled date.  Meetings are held at 6:30 p.m. unless changed by resolution of the Board.  

The public is welcome to attend all regular meetings of the Board.  

The agenda for each regular meeting is published by local media and is available in the Board of Education office on Friday and Monday preceding the regular meeting,
or the agenda can be viewed on this web site.

Board of Education Meeting Schedule and Agendas for 2016-2017