News‎ > ‎

Hamilton Wins Their Second Straight Conference Championship

posted Feb 21, 2017, 2:11 PM by Barry Holloway   [ updated Apr 1, 2017, 9:07 AM ]
Article and Photo by Barry Holloway

Milwaukee, WI--
With a historic performance, the Hamilton Forensics team have won their second-straight Greater Metro Conference Championship in forensics. 20 of the team's 25 entries placed (top-3) in their category, which is a team record. That number was equal to the number of entries who placed by both Brookfield East and Wauwatosa East, combined. The Chargers won with a team record 276 points and 11.04 quality points per round. The team also had five individual conference champions. The team had previously placed 1st, 2nd, and 1st in their first three invites to start the season.

Conference Champions

Erin Magoon (Informative Speaking)

Emma Stokman (Demonstration Speaking)

Matt Gnanadass (Extemp)

Ritika Patel & Mallory Remm (Play Acting)

Rashelle Pershman (Prose)


2nd Place

Rachel and Sean Searphine (Play Acting)

Emily Keith (Special Occasion)

Emily Berger & Maanya Kashyap (Duo Interp)

Jack Larsen (Extemp)

Jordan Koeller (Informative)

Kavya Ayalasomayajula (Solo Serious)

Ciara Cronin (Storytelling)


3rd Place

Manola Inthavong (Poetry)

Mia Leukert (Demonstration)

Amy Yadev (Informative)

Abby Meihsner (Moments in History)

Harper Rhoades (Oratory)

Victoria Graf/Mehak Oberoi/Swathi Prasad (Play Acting)

Elise Rades (Solo Serious)

Molly Hubred (Special Occasion)

--Hamilton swept the categories of Informative Speaking and Play Acting.

--Kavya Ayalasomayajula has now placed in four different categories at conference (2014-Special Occasion 3rd, 2015-Storytelling 1st, 2016-Play Acting 3rd, 2017-Solo Serious 2nd).

--Erin Magoon only attended two conference meets during her high school career, but she was the Conference Champion in Informative Speaking at both (2014 & 2017).

--Ciara Cronin finishes her high school career at conference never finishing lower than second place in Storytelling in three appearances (2015-2nd, 2016-1st, 2017-2nd).

-- Conference Champs Emma Stokman (Sophomore), Rashelle Pershman (Junior), and Ritika Patel & Mallory  Remm (Freshmen) were performing at their first conference tournament.

--Erin Magoon (Senior) has been named champion in informative speaking at three straight tournaments, the longest such streak in recent team history.

--Seventeen entries featured Chargers making their conference debut. 12 of those entries placed in the top-3.

--Since the tournament champion cannot win the "Quality Points Award," Brookfield East took home the prize with a 10.8 quality points per round.

--Brookfield East finished 2nd with 260 points.

--Brookfield East & Wauwatosa East where the co-champions in 2015, the last time a non-Hamilton team won this tournament.

--After never accomplishing the feat, Hamilton has started the season by scoring 250+ points at four straight tournaments.