News‎ > ‎

Hamilton Appoints New Captains for 2017

posted Aug 18, 2016, 1:10 PM by Barry Holloway   [ updated Aug 18, 2016, 1:30 PM ]
Article by Barry Holloway
Photo by Emily Fassbender

Sussex, WI—After a team vote and an extensive interview process the 10+ candidates for team captain were whittled down to the three students who would lead the team during the 2017 season. Junior Erin Magoon (pictured, left) was named team captain and junior Ciara Cronin and Sophomore Matt Gnanadass were named assistant captains.

The process involved a team vote in order to nominate candidates for the positions. 34 of the eligible 38 team members voted in this election with both Magoon and Cronin receiving more than 20 votes. All of those receiving votes were offered a chance to meet with Head Coach Barry Holloway in order to be selected as one of the team captains.

Magoon will be entering the final season in her forensics career. In her first three years on the team, Magoon has never finished lower than 10th in state, finishing as high as 4th in 2016. She was Conference Champion in Four Minute Speaking in 2014. She also has seven career 1st-place finishes at local invites. Magoon has placed in the top-3 at 78% of the invites she’s attended. Her brother, A.J. Magoon, was the team’s first captain in 2014. She holds six individual team records.

Cronin will be entering her third and final season with the forensics team. She was named the 2015 Rookie of the Year, and has placed in the top-3 at five local invites during the course of her career. She was the 2015 GMC Champion runner-up in 2015, and she is the reigning 2016 GMC Champion in Storytelling. Cronin also played lead roles in two school plays, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and A-Haunting We Will Go. She won a dream team award in 2015.

Gnanadass will be the youngest member on the leadership team. He finished last season (2015) as a runner-up for Rookie of the Year; however, 2016 proved to be his best season. Gnanadass placed in the top-3 at three local invites, took 3rd at the GMC Tournament, and became the first Charger not named Dani Kallis to win a WFCA State Championship (Impromptu).

The three will take over for Captain Samantha Moore (pictured, right) and Assistant Captains Dani Kallis & Andy O'Neill as all three will graduate at the end of the year.