GWLA Staff

Home‎ > ‎New at GWLA‎ > ‎

Webinar: Why Not Minot? Disaster Recovery During This Summer's Flooding

posted Dec 7, 2011, 3:22 PM by Joni Blake   [ updated Dec 14, 2011, 12:08 PM ]
Join Randy Silverman, Preservation Librarian at the University of Utah's Marriott Library when he discusses his experiences in Minot, ND this summer, helping with flood recovery.

We hope that this will be the first event in a new series of occasional webinars addressing disaster “post mortem” examinations—a round-robin discussion of post-disaster learning experiences told from the perspective of the librarians who were in the thick of it.  Presenters will discuss the disaster their library experienced, addressing: 

What went well?  What didn't?   Lessons learned & other takeaways.

The kickoff webinar will take place on Monday, December 19th at 2pm (Central); 1pm (Mountain); Noon (Pacific); and 10am (Hawaiian). 

Connection instructions:


Dial-in number(s): Phone - (201) 549-7623
Phone PIN: 03377756

If your computer has a microphone/speakers or a combo headset, you might be able to view the webinar without dialing in to the phone line--We're a little fuzzy on this, so it would be wise to take a 'belt and suspenders' approach and have both your computer's audio as well as a phone ready to go.

When people log on to the Wimba room for the webinar, there is a telephone logo at the bottom of the screen -- touch it and it provides the phone and pin numbers needed to call in to be able to talk, as well as at the bottom of this message. Otherwise, people can type comments into a chat box.

We are also going to try to record the webinar for later viewing if your schedule doesn't allow you to attend on Monday.

Comments