GWLA Staff

Home‎ > ‎New at GWLA‎ > ‎

Webinar for the launch of the monographic de-duping project

posted Mar 30, 2012, 2:46 PM by Anne McKee   [ updated Apr 3, 2012, 3:17 PM ]

OCLC project for GWLA collections

GWLA:  Print and Electronic Collection Management Task Force

April 5, 2012

2 pm Central, 1 pm Mountain, noon Pacific, and 9 am Hawaii

 

Many of us are facing the challenge of limited collection space at the same we are trying to increase user space.  We do not want to abandon our print monograph collections, as they brought prestige to our universities and attracted the best students and faculty to our campuses.  But, we want to find ways to collect smarter.

Print and Electronic Management Task Force has been working on strategies to assist GWLA libraries with collaboratively managing existing print monograph collections.  Task force co-chairs, Steven Harris (University of New Mexico) and Stephanie Atkins (Washington University in St. Louis) will briefly talk about the upcoming OCLC report that will identify the overlap in titles between our respective libraries and electronic copies in Hathi Trust and Google.  The report can serve as a tool for institutions interested in strengthening core collection areas and de-accessioning items from our collection in order to reclaim space for other library initiatives.

After Steven and Stephanie provide the basics of the report, the bulk of the webinar will be for your questions and ideas.  Whether you are the RSDD/CD representative, subject librarian or simply interested in this topic, we hope that you will join us!

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE CONNECTION INFORMATION HAS CHANGED:

For the webinar portion of the presentation: please point your browser to:

http://www.FreeScreenSharing.com/meetings/987-050-126

Once you are at the site, please follow the links to “Join a Meeting.”  (It should ask you for your name and email address.)

If this is your first time using freescreensharing.com, you will need to download the software.  While this only takes a few minutes, you are strongly advised to download the software prior to the start of the meeting-a minimum of 10 minutes before.

For the audio portion of this webinar, please dial (559)546-1200 and enter the

Meeting ID: 987-050-126#

Comments