History of the Church

The Church of the Good Shepherd, organized in 1913, is the only Episcopal Church in the city of Greer.  In the beginning, meetings were held in private homes, at schools, and in other church buildings.  Land was purchased and the present building was completed in 1932.  The Reverend Alexander Mitchell was rector of Christ Church in Greenville when he established our mission in Greer.  He later officiated at our first service in May of 1932.

Located on the original site of Greer's First Baptist Church, the property has had a church on it since 1880.  This historic setting is adjacent to a city park and is in front of Greer's oldest cemetery.  Unique to a church the size of the Church of the Good Shepherd, two of our former priests went on to be elected Bishop in the Diocese of Southwest Florida.  The Church of the Good Shepherd remained a mission until 1965 when it became a parish.  It returned to mission status in 1987.

The Church of the Good Shepherd officially regained parish status in the fall of 2006.