Southern Gaels Hurling Club notes 30/9/2013

posted 1 Oct 2013, 11:16 by Kieran McCarthy
40th Anniversary Celebrations
Plans for the celebration of our 40th anniversary are well advanced at this stage. The all important date is Saturday 19th October. There will be a series of matches played on the day as follows.Starting at 3.30 with Under 6, Under 8, Under 13. minor and Junior matches. The Frank Young Cup will be presented, to the U10 winners, in memory of one of the main club founders Frank Young. The John Martin Cup will be presented to the Minor winners in memory of the last man to captain an Athlone side to a senior championship in both 1911 and 1912. Then, the John Maher Cup will be presented to the Junior match winners in memory of the man who revitalised hurling in Athlone and was a main movers behind the development of Pairc Chiaráin. Later that night in Athlone G.A.A. there will be presentations to the first Southern Gaels team from 1973 and the Intermediate champions from 1986 and the Junior champions of 1993. Also former club member Peter Mc Garry will be presented with the Bill Stacey Hall of Fame award. The presentations will be made after a barbecue that night at the G.A.A. club. Tickets at €15 can be got from the committee or ring Kevin at 087 7989941. To book for the golf outing in Athlone Golf Club that morning ring Gerry at 087 2323307

Under 16 B Championship
Southern Gaels 5-10  St. Oliver Plunkett's  1-6
The home side controlled the match from the outset. Dermot Treacy and Ross Cooper controlled center-field and set up many attacks. Eoin Meaney and David Jacob excelled in defense and limited the Mullingar to few chances. However, it was a series of fine saves by Gaels goalkeeper Kevin Dolan early in the game that launched their ultimate victory. Best in the forward line were Sean Dowd and Austin Murphy.
Southern Gaels: Kevin Dolan, Conor Devaney, Cathal Mc Givern, Eoin Meaney, Tiernan Powell, Fergus Groenendikk, David Jacob, Ross Cooper (2-0), Daviv Treacy (0-3), Sean Dowd (0-5), Austin Murphy (1-0), Darragh Coyle (0-1), Aaron Byrne, Fionn Dowd (2-1) and Joe Finnucane  Sub Gary Fitzpatrick for Finnucane.

Congratulations to Patrick Flynn, Tony O'Keeffe, Jason Ryan and Eoghan Cronin who represented Westmeath in a  hurling match against Argentina played in Cusack Park recently as part of the Gathering celebrations.