Jefferson County was created in 1827. It was named for Thomas Jefferson, third President of the United States of America.

Jefferson County is adjacent to Georgia, with Thomas County on the north and Brooks County towards the northeast.  It's Florida neighbors are Madison County on the east, Taylor to the southeast; Wakulla is southwest and Leon County is on the west.

 If you have transcribed material of county interest, please consider donating it. Thank you. This county is part of the FLGenWeb Project. Links to web sites that are not part of the FLGenWeb Project are provided for your convenience and do not imply any endorsement of the web sites or their content by the FLGenWeb Project. 

FLGenWeb Project



WorldGenWeb Project