February 12, 1913, representatives from five towns on the St. Andrew’s Bay, met in Panama City to select a name for a proposed new county. The name Bay was selected because it was satisfactory to the majority of the citizens and was descriptive of the territory that would be included. On July 1, 1913, Bay County was created by the Legislature from portions of Washington, Calhoun and Walton counties.

Bay County is bordered on the north by Washington County, Jackson County lies to the northeast, Calhoun is on the east, Gulf County is southeast and Walton County is on the west.

  If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact the State Coordinator or Assistant State Coordinator.