Escambia County and St. Johns County were Florida's original two counties with the Suwannee River being the boundary between the two. Escambia County was created on July 21, 1821, when General Jackson,  the provisional governor, divided the Floridas into two counties, Escambia and St. Johns. It was named for the Escambia River. The name "Escambia" may be derived from the Creek name "Shambia," meaning "clearwater," or the Choctaw word for "cane-brake" or "reed-brake."

The only Florida county that borders Escambia is Santa Rosa on the East.
To the north there is an Escambia County, Alabama and on the west is Baldwin County, Alabama.

This county is undergoing renovations. We apologize for any inconveniences. If you have transcribed material of county interest, please consider donating it. Thank you.

Escambia County is maintained by all the members of The FLGenWeb Project.
A proud member of The USGenWeb Project.

This site was updated August 29, 2010.