Recent News‎ > ‎

New Unified District Holds Its Organizational Meeting

posted Oct 14, 2009, 11:16 PM by Brenda MRUSD   [ updated Jul 29, 2016, 12:44 PM ]
Pledge of Allegiance
The new unified district held its organizational meeting on May 31
st, directly followed by its first Board meeting. Secretary of Education Rebecca Holcombe hosted the organization meeting, and we were able to show her just a fraction of how we work together by having a student from each school lead the group in the Pledge of Allegiance. Shown in the picture on are City School Kindergartener - William Leis (left); Town School Fourth Grader Sophia Sinagra (center); Fairfield Center School Seventh Grader Quincy Fournier (right); and BFA High School Eleventh Grader Marleigh Lamothe (front). Secretary Holcombe is far left, and Michael Malone and Michael L’Esperance are behind Superintendent Kevin Dirth.

In addition to the student led pledge, the BFA Chamber Chorus sang the National Anthem, and they kicked off the
new unified district in high fashion. Armand Messier directed the chorus.

Longtime Fairfield moderator Bridget Rivett was elected as the district moderator, Fairfield Town Clerk, Amanda Forbes was elected as the district clerk, and BFA Treasurer, Jimmy Matas was elected the district treasurer.

The first Board meeting was held right after the organizational meeting. James Farr was elected Chair and Michael Malone, Vice Chair.  Al Corey was elected Collins Perley representative.

After debate over more than fifty names submitted through a contest vying community members for bragging rights, the Board finally selected Maple Run School District. AOE asks that we add Unified to separate us from a town district, making us Maple Run Unified School District.

The meetings for Maple Run will be held the first and third Wednesday at 6:00. One a month will be a business meeting held at Central Office, and the other monthly meeting will be held at the schools on a rotating basis to help the Board members become familiar with each school and to highlight each school’s accomplishments.