Future Teachers Club

The Future Teachers Club at John Tyler is open to all students interested in the teaching profession. The club provides opportunities for members to network and share information on careers, certification and transfer; learn from guest speakers; volunteer for education-related community service projects; and obtain advising information about EDU 200 and Praxis I.

All interested students are invited to attend the Future Teachers Club meetings!

Fall 2016 meetings:

Monday, Sep. 12 from 3:30-4:30 pm


Monday, Oct. 17 from 3:30-4:30 pm (Dr. Kathryn Burnes, Teaching Students with ADHD)


Monday, Nov. 7 from 3:30-4:30 (Praxis Review)

 

Monday, Nov. 14 from 2:00-3:30 pm  [This is the Teacher Education Information Session.  Representatives from JMU, Longwood, Mary Baldwin College, ODU, University of Mary Washington, University of Richmond, VCU, and VSU will be at the meeting to talk about their programs and to answer student questions.  This is an excellent opportunity to get all of your transfer questions answered.  This will be held in Moyar M201 on the Chester campus.]


Monday, Dec. 5 from 3:30-4:30 pm  (Representatives from Fit for Kids: a five session after-school program aimed at making children savvy consumers of food)

 

Where:   Chester Campus, Moyar Hall, room M213
              Midlothian Campus, Eliades Hall, room E102    
           We video-conference together!
          
Club Sponsors: John Kirn jkirn@jtcc.edu, Ken Williams kwilliams@jtcc.edu, Victoria Brame vbrame@jtcc.eduPete Peterson ppeterson@jtcc.edu, SaajidaChohan schohan@jtcc.edu, Lindsey Stoneking lstoneking@jtcc.edu and Susan Birdsong sbirdsong@jtcc.edu