Future Teachers Club

The Future Teachers Club at John Tyler is open to all students interested in the teaching profession. The club provides opportunities for members to network and share information on careers, certification and transfer; learn from guest speakers; volunteer for education-related community service projects; and obtain advising information about EDU 200 and Praxis I.

All interested students are invited to attend the Future Teachers Club meetings!

Spring 2017 meetings:

Wednesday, Jan. 25 from 12:30-1:30 PM (Dr. Alyce Miller on Rosenwald Schools and the History of Education in VA)

Wednesday, Feb. 22 from 12:30-1:30 PM (English Teacher Peter Schumacher from James River HS on Passionate Teaching)

Wednesday, March 22 from 12:30-1:30 PM (Topic to be Announced)


Where:   Chester Campus, Moyar Hall, room M213
              Midlothian Campus, Eliades Hall, room E102    
           We video-conference together!
          
Club Sponsors: John Kirn jkirn@jtcc.edu, Ken Williams kwilliams@jtcc.edu, Victoria Brame vbrame@jtcc.eduPete Peterson ppeterson@jtcc.edu, SaajidaChohan schohan@jtcc.edu, Lindsey Stoneking lstoneking@jtcc.edu and Susan Birdsong sbirdsong@jtcc.edu 


Wednesday, April 12, from 11:00-12:30  [This is the Teacher Education Information Session.  Representatives from JMU, Longwood, Mary Baldwin College, ODU, University of Mary Washington, University of Richmond, VCU, and VSU will be at the meeting to talk about their programs and to answer student questions.  This is an excellent opportunity to get all of your transfer questions answered.  This will be held in Hamel 109 on the Midlothian campus.]


Saturday, April 22, 10-4, FOOL for ART at the Midlothian Campus.  The Future Teachers Club will be helping children decorate their own visors. This is always the most popular table at the fair.  We need your help!!!  Contact John Kirn at jkirn@jtcc.edu if you are willing to take a two hour shift during the day.  You'll have lots of fun working with the kids and your classmates!!