Alignment of World Language National Standards with Common Core Standards

The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) has developed this alignment study:
From the introduction:
The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts (ELA) and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects contains four strands: Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language. These four strands are represented in the National Standards for Learning Languages by the Communication standards (interpersonal, interpretive, and presentational) and the level of proficiency demonstrated. In addition, the standards of the other four goals areas for learning languages – Cultures, Connections, Comparisons, and Communities – also support and are aligned with the Common Core. These standards describe the expectations to ensure all students are college-, career-, and world-ready.
The Common Core strands of Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening are captured in the standards for learning languages’ goal area of Communication, by emphasizing the purpose behind the communication:
  • Interpersonal (speaking + listening or writing + reading)
  • Interpretive (reading, listening, viewing)
  • Presentational (writing, speaking, visually representing)

In the description of reading in the Common Core document, the use of both literary and informational texts is suggested. This same balance is identified in the Standards for Learning Languages.

In the description of writing in the Common Core document, a balance of writing to explain, to persuade, and to convey experience is suggested. These same purposes for writing are identified in the Standards for Learning Languages.

Subpages (1): Performance Expectations