Schedule

Welcome to CS 636 Graduate Operating Systems Spring 2014

Week 16

The May 8
  • Project 3 Presentations
Tue May 6
  • Project 3 Presentations

Week 15

Thu May 1
  • Paper 11 discussion.
Tue Apr 30

Week 14

Thu Apr 24
    • Paper 10: Cassandra Paper (PDF)
      • Evals due Wednesday, April 23rd at11:59pm in your git repo(/cs636/evals/paper10.pdf)

    Tue Apr 22
    • Paper 9: Bigtable: A Distributed Storage System for Structured Data (PDF)
      • Evals due on Monday, April 21th at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper9.pdf)

    Week 13

    Thu Apr 17
    • USF Holiday -- No class.

    Thu Apr 15
    • Continue discussion of Paper 8
    • Project 3 design discussion

    Week 12

    Tue Apr 8
    • Paper 8:  Copysets: Reducing the Frequency of Data Loss in Cloud Storage (PDF)
      • Evals due on Monday, April 7th at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper8.pdf)

    Week 11

    Tue Apr 1
    • Paper 7: MapReduce: Simplified Data Processing on Large Clusters by J. Dean and S. Ghemawat (PDF)
      • Evals due on Monday, March 31 at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper7.pdf)

    Week 10

    Thu Mar 26
    • GFS, MapReduce, and Project 3
    Tue Mar 25
    • Midterm
      • Past midterms (see attachments below)

    Week 9

    Thu Mar 19
    • Discuss Paper 6
    Tue Mar 18
    • Paper 6: The Google File System by S. Ghemawat, H. Gobioff, and S. Leung (PDF)
      • Evals will be due on Wednesday, March 19th at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper6.pdf)

    Week 8

    Spring Break

    Week 7

    Thu Mar 6
    • Discuss paper 4 and project 2.
    Tue Mar 4

    Week 6

    Thu Feb 27
    • Discuss Paper 4: Implementation and API

    Tue Feb 25

    Week 5

    Thu Feb 20
    • Discuss Paper 3: The Invitation Algorithm

    Tue Feb 18
    • Discuss Paper 3, the Bully Algorithm and the Invitation Algorithm
    • Processes/Threads/Coroutines

    Week 4

    Thu Feb 13 2014
    • Paper 3Elections in a Distributed Computing System by H. Garcia-Molina (PDF)
      • Evals due Wednesday, February 12th at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper3.pdf)
    Tue Feb 11 2014
    • Continue with Two-Phase commit discussion
      • Small group summaries

    Week 3

    Thu Feb 6 2014
    • Paper 2: Two-Phase Commit Optimizations and Tradeoffs in the Commercial Environment by G. Samaras, K. Britton, A. Citron, and C. Mohan (PDF)
      • Evals due Wednesday, February 5th at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper2.pdf)
    Tue Feb 4 2014
    • Project 1 Experiments

    Week 2

    Thu Jan 30 2014
    • Paper 1: End-To-End Arguments in System Design by J.H. Saltzer, D. P. Reed, and D. D. Clark (PDF)
      • Evals due Wednesday, January 29th at 11:59pm in your git repo (/cs636/evals/paper1.pdf)
    Tue Jan 28 2014
    • Discuss Project 1

    Week 1

    Thu Jan 21 2014
    • Paper evaluation template
    • Project 1: practical issues

    Tue Jan 21 2014
    • Course overview
    • Project 1
    Ċ
    Greg Benson,
    Feb 11, 2014, 9:38 AM
    Ċ
    Greg Benson,
    Mar 20, 2014, 4:46 PM
    Ċ
    Greg Benson,
    Mar 20, 2014, 4:45 PM