About Us‎ > ‎


Ten years after founding the Thomas M. Cooley law school, Judge Thomas E. Brennan decided that Cooley’s students needed their own law review. Thus, the "Cooley Law Review" was founded in 1982 and it published its first volume during the Trinity term of that year.

Since its inception, the Cooley Law Review has published three issues a year: January, May, and September. Beginning with volume 8 in 1991, the Cooley Law Review officially changed its name to the “Thomas M. Cooley Law Review.” Although the books published by the Cooley Law Review generally look the same as they did in 1982, the Law Review has changed a great deal over the years.

Many different faculty advisors have served the Cooley Law Review. Spencer Abraham, who represented Michigan in the United States Senate from 1995-2001 and co-founded the Federalist Society, assisted the Cooley Law Review as its first faculty advisor. Other faculty advisors who are best known and loved for their contributions to Cooley Law School include Professors Philip Prygoski, Evelyn Tombers, Mark Cooney, Chris Trudeau, and current advisor Bradley Charles.

As Cooley Law School has grown, the size of its Law Review has increased dramatically. Ten students comprised the first Law Review in 1982. Today eleven students make up just the Law Review’s Board of Editors. Numerous positions have also been added over the years. The first law review positions with titles were Editor, Managing Editor, and Secretary. Today there are positions for Articles, Comments, Symposium, and Solicitation Editors to name a few.

Even the qualifications to participate in the Cooley Law Review have changed with time. Before Professor Eugene Krasicky came up with the idea for a Scholarly Writing class at Cooley, students qualified for the organization solely on the basis of their grade point average. When Scholarly Writing first became a prerequisite for law review it was actually two classes. In the first Scholarly Writing class students wrote a Casenote, and in the second class, students wrote a Comment. This experience familiarized students with the two most common forms of law review articles.

One thing that has not changed about the Cooley Law Review is the position of Law Review Secretary held by Mrs. Dawn Beachnau. Dawn, who started working for Cooley’s library in 1977, has been the official Cooley Law Review Secretary since 1983, and she has assisted significantly in the publication of each volume since that time.

The Thomas M. Cooley Law Review continues to publish three books a year. You can view the table of contents and articles of our most recent book and past books by selecting "Published Volumes" on the menu.