Home 2017-2018

Hello, I am Michael Meizies, and this will be my ninth year teaching at Jared Eliot Middle School and my nineteenth year overall in the Clinton School District.  I earned my B.A. from the University of Connecticut and my M.S. from Southern Connecticut State University.
 
 Welcome to United States History!  We will have an exciting and fun-filled year learning about the United States' heritage.  The course will commence with the founding of the United States' government after the adoption of the Constitution and conclude with Reconstruction.  You will have many opportunities to demonstrate your content skills and knowledge; make the most of them.
 
My e-mail address is:  mmeizies@clintonpublic.net
 
Homework assignments are listed below.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Welcome Back!  Classroom rules and academic policies were reviewed in class.

Thursday, August 31, 2017
No homework.

Friday, September 1, 2017
Students were given a FIVE question survey on the role of credit and debt in present-day society.  Students will interview an adult of their choosing.  This will make a very relevant connection to the financial problems the newly formed United States faced in the early 1790s.  Due:  Wednesday, September 5, 2017.

Monday, September 4, 2017
Labor Day--No School!

Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Finish your survey on credit and debt if you have not already done so.  It is due TOMORROW!

Wednesday, September 6, 2017
Read Chapter 7, Section 2 in your text and answer questions #1-3 on p.242.
Due:  Friday, September 8, 2017.

Thursday, September 7, 2017
Same assignment as previous class.

Friday, September 8, 2017
You should STUDY your Chapter 7, Section 2 homework AND your Hamilton viewing guide sheet in preparation for a QUIZ on TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 12th.  The quiz has 12 short answer questions.  Enjoy the weekend.

Monday, September 11, 2017
Pause at some point to pay respect to the victims of the 9/11 attacks.
Quiz tomorrow.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Try to go online to access your United States History textbook.  Your username and password are located on page 25 in your planner.  I will check with all classes tomorrow.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Read Chapter Chapter 7, Section 3 and answer questions #1-4 on page 249.  This section begins on page 243.    Due:  Monday, September 18, 2017.

Thursday, September 14, 2017
Camp Hazen field trip!  Same homework as previous class.

Friday, September 15, 2017
Complete the homework assigned on Wednesday.

Monday, September 18, 2017
No homework.

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Read Chapter 7, Section 4 and complete the THREE blue reading check questions  on that section.  Due:  Wednesday, September 20, 2017.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017
No new homework.

Thursday, September 21, 2017
If you do not think you can finish your 1800 Presidential project by Friday, you need to work on it for homework.  

Friday, September 22, 2017
1800 Presidential projects are due  TODAY!

Monday, September 25, 2017
Read Chapter 8, Section 1 and complete the THREE blue reading check questions in that section.  The questions are on pp. 267, 269 and 270.  This assignment will be due on Wednesday, September 27, 2017.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Same as previous class.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017
No homework.

Thursday, September 28, 2017
We will finish the Lewis and Clark video today in class.  Be sure to answer the accompanying questions.

Friday, September 29, 2017
Your North American Fauna project was assigned today; therefore, your homework is to come to class on Monday with three possible choices for what animal you want to research.  THE PROJECT ITSELF IS DUE ON FRIDAY, OCTOBER 13TH. 

Monday, October 2, 2017
Read Chapter 8, Section 2 and complete questions #1-3 on page 277.  Due:  Wednesday, October 4th.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Same homework as previous class.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Read the brief handout on Tecumseh and complete the two questions AND the activity at the end of the reading.  Due:  Thursday, October 5, 2017.

Thursday, October 5, 2017
Continue to work on your North American Fauna Project--it is due on Friday, October 13th.

Friday, October 6, 2017
No homework--enjoy the long Columbus Day weekend!

Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Continue to work on your North American Fauna Projects; they are DUE ON FRIDAY, OCTOBER 13TH.

 Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Same as previous class--see me if you have any last minute concerns!

Thursday, October 12, 2017
FINISH YOUR NORTH AMERICAN PROJECTS--IT IS WORTH A TEST GRADE!

Friday, October 13, 2017
Read Chapter 8, Section 4 and complete questions #1-3 on p. 287.  This will be due on Tuesday, October 17, 2017.

Monday. October 16, 2017
Same homework as previous class.  Additionally, we will have an essay test on the War of 1812 on Thursday, October 19, 2017.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Study for the essay test on the War of 1812; you should study the TWO-SIDED video sheet on the War of 1812 and the Chapter 8, Section 4 homework.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Study for the War of 1812 Test--IT IS TOMORROW!

Thursday, October 19, 2017
Early dismissal day; no homework tonight.

Friday, October 20, 2017
No homework--enjoy the weekend.  "Interview a Veteran"  assignment is due Monday, November 6, 2017.

Monday, October 23, 2017
Read Chapter 9 Section 1 and answer the accompanying questions at the end of the selection.  Due:  Wednesday, October 25, 2017.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017
No new homework!

Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Continue to work on your Veteran Interview.

Thursday, October 26, 2017
Read Chapter 9, Section 2 and answer the THREE reading check questions that appear on pp. 304 and 305.  Due:  Friday, October 27, 2017.

Friday, October 27, 2017
No homework--enjoy the weekend.

Monday, October 30, 2017
No school due to storm.

Tuesday, October 31--Friday, November 3, 2017
Teacher out--finish your Veterans' interviews; they are due on Monday, November 6, 2017.

Monday, November 6, 2017
No homework.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017
No homework.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Read Chapter 10, Section 2 --pages 326-331 and answer the FOUR reading check questions in that section.  Those reading check  questions appear on pp. 327, 329, 330 and 331.  Due:  Friday, November 10, 2017.

Thursday, November 9, 2017
Same homework as previous class.

Friday, November 10, 2017
Begin to study for a test on Andrew Jackson; the test will be Wednesday, November 15, 2017.    Enjoy the cold weekend!

Monday, November 13, 2017
The essay for the Andrew Jackson test was given out in class today; the test is Wednesday, November 15, 2017.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017
STUDY for the test on Andrew Jackson!  The test is tomorrow. 7.2 Social Studies- Ch.10 Andrew Jackson

Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Read Chapter 11, Section 1 and answer questions #1 and #2 on p. 349.  This assignment will be due on Friday, November 17, 2017.

Thursday, November 16, 2017
Same as previous class.

Friday, November 17, 2017
No homework!

Monday, November 20, 2017
Complete the geographic activity on Texas for homework if you did not finish it in class.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017
No homework--enjoy the Thanksgiving Break; it is much deserved!

THANKSGIVING BREAK (November 22--November 26)

Monday, November 27, 2017
No homework--we will be viewing "The Alamo" in preparation for an upcoming test on the War for Texas Independence.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Same as previous class.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Read Chapter 11, Section 2 and answer questions #1-3 on p. 353.  Due:  Friday, December 1, 2017.

Thursday, November 30, 2017
Same as previous class.

Friday, December 1, 2017
Study your map of Texas, the guided viewing sheet on The Alamo film and your Chapter 11, Section 2 homework in preparation for a 30 question test on how Texas won its independence.  THE TEST IS TUESDAY, DECEMBER 5TH.
https://quizlet.com/248464801/72-ss-the-alamo-flash-cards/?et=eyJ0eXAiOiJKV1QiLCJhbGciOiJub25lIn0.eyJlbWFpbCI6Im1tZWl6aWVzQGNsaW50b25wdWJsaWMubmV0IiwidGFnIjoic2hhcmVfc2V0X2VtYWlsIn0.


Monday, December 4, 2017
STUDY for your test on Texas; the test is tomorrow.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Texas test today!  No homework.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Read Chapter 11, Section 3 pp. 354-363 and complete the vocabulary sheet and THREE Reading Check questions on Manifest Destiny, The Mexican-American War, etc.  DUE:  Monday, December 11, 2017.

Thursday, December 7, 2017
Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day.  Same homework as previous class.

Friday, December 8, 2017
Same homework as previous classes.  Enjoy the weekend.

Monday, December 11, 2017
Study for a fill-in-the blanks quiz on Chapter 11, Section 3.  The quiz will be tomorrow.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Finish the three questions from "A Mexican Views the War"  if you have not already done so.  Due:  Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Wednesday, December 13, 2017
No homework!

Thursday, December 14, 2017
Read Chapter 11, Section 4 pp. 364-369 and answer questions #1-3 on p. 369.
Due:  Tuesday, December 18th.

Friday, December 15, 2017
Same assignment as previous class.

Monday, December 18, 2017
Finish the Chapter 11, Section 4 homework on the California Gold Rush.  There will also be a QUIZ on this section on Thursday, December 19th.

Tuesday, December 19, 2017
THERE WILL BE NO QUIZ ON CHAPTER 11, SECTION 4 THIS WEEK!  

Wednesday, December 20, 2017
NO QUIZ ON CHAPTER 11, SECTION 4 THIS WEEK!

Thursday, December 21, 2017
Mrs. Fusaro, school guidance counselor, came in to present a lesson on anti-bullying.  It went quite well.

Friday, December 22, 2017
No homework; enjoy the Holiday Season and see you in 2018!

Monday, December 25, 2017--Monday, January 1, 2018--Holiday Break

Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Study for the California Quiz which is tomorrow--January 3rd.  We will review in class.  Additionally, read Chapter 12, Section 1 and answer questions #1-3 on p. 389.  CHANGE HERE -THIS WILL NOW BE DUE ON FRIDAY, JANUARY 5, 2018.

Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Same as previous class, but note the change in due date.

Thursday, January 4th and Friday, January 5th school was closed due to snow .

Monday, January 8, 2018
No homework, unless you did not finish your mini-project on a clothing design.  This makes a nice connection to Levi Strauss.

Tuesday, January 9, 2018
No homework.

Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Read Chapter 12, Section 2 and complete the THREE Reading Check questions on pp. 391, 394 and 395.  Due:  Friday, January 12, 2018.

Thursday, January 11, 2018
Same homework as previous class.

Friday, January 12, 2018
No homework--enjoy the NFL playoffs!

Monday, January 15, 2018
No school--observance of Martin Luther King's birthday.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018
No homework because all classes will begin an in-class project on working in an 18th century Northeastern textile mill.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Same as previous class.

Thursday, January 18, 2018
All classes will work toward completion of their Northeastern textile mill projects.

Friday, January 19, 2018
Read Chapter 12, Section 3 (pp. 396-401) and answer questions #1-4 on p. 401.
Due:  Tuesday, January 23, 2018.

Monday, January 22, 2018
Same as previous class.  Matching quiz on Chapter 12, Section 3 will be Wednesday, January 24, 2018.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Study for the matching quiz on Chapter 12, Section 3-it is on steamboats and steam trains.  Quiz is Wednesday!

Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Read Chapter 12, Section 4 and complete the graphic organizer that was handed out in class for this section.

Thursday, January 25, 2018
Same as previous class.

Friday, January 26, 2018
Check PowerSchool for your second quarter grades.

Monday, January 29, 2018
No new homework.

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
No school--snow day.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Read Chapter 13, Section 2 on the social hierarchy of the southern United States prior to the Civil War and complete the graphic organizer that was handed out in class.  Due:  Thursday, February 1, 2018.

Thursday, February 1, 2018
No homework.

Friday, February 2, 2018
Complete the map activity on the southern United States if you did not finish in class.  

Monday, February 5, 2018
No homework.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018
We will be viewing Unchained Memories in class, a powerful documentary about the slave experience in the American South this week.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Same as previous class.

Thursday, February 8, 2018
Read Chapter 13, Section 3--pages 424-429 and answer questions #1-4 on page 429.  Due:  Monday, February 12, 2018.  ADDITIONALLY, THERE WILL BE AN ESSAY TEST ON TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2018.

Friday, February 9, 2018
Same as previous class.  Study for your essay test.
https://quizlet.com/_4fcmfp?et=eyJ0eXAiOiJKV1QiLCJhbGciOiJub25lIn0.eyJlbWFpbCI6Im1tZWl6aWVzQGNsaW50b25wdWJsaWMubmV0IiwidGFnIjoic2hhcmVfc2V0X2VtYWlsIn0.
7.2 SS Slavery in the American South


Monday, February 12, 2018
STUDY FOR THE ESSAY TEST ON AMERICAN SLAVERY

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Essay test on American slavery is today!



























































Subpages (1): US History Homework