Opinions

Successful Feminists's Event at CHS
by Julia Acquavita, 2018 (posted 3-7-17)
“I was very proud that 100 of our students volunteered to attend the event and that every one of them fully committed to the content and the discussions that followed. I am so proud of them for addressing very serious and adult issues with concern and respect for each other,” says Tina Ocone, leader of the Young Feminists club. 

On Wednesday January 25th, Cheshire High School’s Young Feminists Club, led by world language teacher Tina Ocone, took on the task of organizing an event in the CHS library to help raise student’s awareness of the importance of gender equality in our society. 


Should School Start at a Later Time?

by Julia Acquavita, 2018 (posted 3-6-17)

“This research indicates that school bells that ring as early as 7:00 a.m. in many parts of the country stand in stark contrast with adolescents' sleep patterns and needs,” according to the National Sleep Foundation.

Throughout the past few years, much controversy and conversation has surrounded the issue of what time school should start, especially at Cheshire High School. Read More

Myers-Briggs Test
by Ethan Shan, 2018 (posted 3-14-16)
Every year, we take a personality test to find out our best talents. This test, the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, is the most common personality test used today. It places users in different categories, depending on how they answer the 93 different questions given to them. Read More

The Supreme Court Justice Dilemma
by Ethan Shan, 2018 (posted 2-28-16)
The death of Justice Antonin Scalia has started a battle 
between liberals and conservatives over whether or not
President Obama should nominate a successor before he leaves office.  With many people debating over this, I would like to throw my opinion out and say that a new justice should be nominated as soon as possible. 
Full Article

Stop Censoring our Internet
by Ethan Shan, 2018 (posted 2-11-16)
It’s the first day of school after winter break. You just went to Florida and left your phone behind, so you decide to upload your photos to Facebook during study hall first session. But what’s this? Facebook is blocked by CHS! Full Article

Should we bring back February Break?
by Ethan Shan, 2018 (posted 1-19-16)
Many students have complained about the Board of Education’s decision to abolish February Break. Although the idea of getting out of school earlier by having less vacation time is pleasing to some, losing a whole week of time to finish projects and other work is seen as detrimental to others. I, the author, will have to agree with this latter group of students. Full Article

Thirsty
by Christina Nguyen, 2017 (posted 12-19-15)
Adolescents are a thirsty species. We thirst for adventure. We thirst for a thrilling, risky event to distract ourselves from our tedious school days. We thirst for an outrageous occurrence that we can recount to our friends; stories that invoke them to slap our backs and mutter, “you are a wild imbecile.” Full Article

A Senior’s Guide to Surviving High School
by Hudson Lee, 2015 (posted 6-4-15)
This is it - we’re graduating. Over the past four years, I and my fellow seniors have learned a myriad of tips and tricks that we’ve used to weather the most stressful periods of high school. Here’s a personal list of what I feel are the most important things that you should keep in mind to make your high school experience even just a little bit better Full Article

A Salute to the Salutatorian (and Valedictorian)
by Russell Adam, 2015 (posted 6-4-15)
The titles alone give them a mark of distinction and honor that show their intelligence, determination, and persistence. Full Article

No Pain No Gain
Victor Smith 2017 (posted 5-4-15)
5% of teen boys and 2.5% of teen girls have used some form of anabolic steroids, according to kidshealth.org.

I believe that the use of performance enhancement drugs of any type should never be allowed. many athletes put the work in and train hard, its completely unfair that they are often left in the shadows of someone who uses steroids. Furthermore Steroids are not healthy for the Human body.

Hammonasset Hype
By: Nathaniel Montoya,2018(posted 5/4/15)

May 27-28 Students from all of the Earth Science classes will be heading to Hammonasset Beach State park in order to learn more about how the different tides work as well as to get a chance to relax from a stressful year at school. Full Article

In School Suspension 
By Alivea Maynard,2018 (posted 5-4-15) 
Students can get in school suspension for many different reasons. Including disrespect towards staff, failure to attend Saturday school, profanity/racial slurs, gambling ,vandalism, and cutting class. Full Article 

 Lame Ducks
by Hudson Lee, 2015 (posted 4-2-15)
Haven’t you noticed the hundreds of fowl roaming the halls of CHS during the school day? Haven’t you noticed the tired, unmotivated birds that wander unenergetically, longing for the world beyond?
That’s right - CHS has a lame duck infestation. Full Article

Political Correctness Revisited
by Hudson Lee, 2015 (posted 12-17-14)
A decent number of schools have been restricting the ability of students to openly discuss their faith or beliefs. This has become ever greater of an issue around the holiday season.
Full Article

4 Years. 720 Days. 4680 Hours.
by Hudson Lee, 2015 (posted 12-17-14)
That’s how long we’re going to spend in high school. So why exactly do we devote such a sizable chunk of our lives within the walls of CHS? Full Article

The Xenophobia of the Capitalists 
by Charles Biddiscombe, 2015 (posted 12-16-14)
“Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden door.” Full Article

First Quarter Blues
By Hudson Lee, 2015 (posted 10-22-14)
Have the past couple of months been surprisingly challenging? After finishing last year pretty strong, are you suddenly overwhelmed by your new classes and extracurriculars, and for seniors, the college application process? Read more

Naps are Negative
By Hannah Bontiz, 2015 (posted 10-22-14)
After a long day at school, it’s insanely difficult not to collapse on the couch and fall asleep. It’s practically impossible to resist the urge to rest for a few hours. But, are naps really all that good for you? What if they force you to stay awake into the late hours of the night finishing homework? Read more

A Call for Change
By Jacob Parrott (posted 10-22-14)
Recent events and trends in Cheshire High School have been of major concern to me as a student. It has become hard to sit back and watch as our school, a place I am proud to call home, devolves into anarchy. Read more

Ice Bucket Challenge Soaks

Participants - With or

Without Reason

By Lydia Feng, 2017 (posted 10-1-14)

Freezing people all over the world, the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge has been dominating social media sites across the board. While some of us may groan and deactivate our Facebook accounts, others await eagerly, the tap already running. Read more


Taking High School by the Horns


By Hudson Lee, 2015 (posted 10-1-14)
If there’s any book I would vehemently and feverishly recommend to fellow students as a survival manual for high school, it would be Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg. It’s drastically changed my perspective on how to be not only a successful student, but also a successful individual in all aspects of my life. Read more


Come Write for Rampage Opinions!
Join Our Facebook Group:


Affirmative Action Should Be Declared Illegal in the College Admissions Process