The Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award

 First given in 1957, the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award has honored quality literature for children for over 50 years now.  Each spring, a committee of eight carefully selects 30 books to comprise the DCF Master List After reading at least 5 books from the list, students then vote for their favorite titles the following spring.  The winning author is invited to visit Vermont to speak with children about the experience of writing such fine literature for such fine people. 


DCF Blog
Students looking to share their insights on books from the new DCF List can now head over to the DCF Blog!

DCF Ceremony Video
If you couldn't make it to the DCF Ceremony to see and hear DCF-nominated authors Tanya Lee Stone and Linda Urban, don't worry!  Here's a link to the ceremony, courtesy of RETN.

We Have a Winner!
Congratulations to R. J. Palacio, author of Wonder, the winner of the 2014 Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award!  

Student Nominations Page
Thanks to a nudge from BMUS librarian Kate Davie, the student nomination form is back where it should be on this site!  Vermont students can recommend books they feel would be great additions to the DCF List.

Dorothy's List
Vermont Public Radio (VPR) has kicked off Dorothy's List, a monthly feature on Vermont Edition to highlight books on the DCF List.  Each month, one book from the current DCF List will be featured, with kids bringing ideas and questions to the author.