Home‎ > ‎Instruction‎ > ‎

Social Studies

The James River High School Social Studies Department believes that a primary goal of education is to prepare students to be engaged, analytical and effective citizens. An effective citizen is one who has the knowledge, skills and attitudes required to effectively function in an ever changing and interconnected world. That knowledge includes an understanding of both the past and the present, as well as an understanding of both domestic and global issues. Throughout the social studies curriculum, students will be given opportunities to apply their civic and global knowledge, skills, and values as they work to discuss real problems in the school, the community, the nation, and the world. We look forward to working with you and your student as they engage in the pursuit of historical knowledge and understanding.


 

Social Studies Review Documents

 

US History

SOL Review Part 1

SOL Review Part 2

SOL Review Part 3

SOL Review Part 4

SOL Review Part 5

SOL Review Part 6

 

World History I 

World I Remediation Helpful Links

SOL Practice Test for World History I

Review Videos:

 

 

World History II




James River High School Social Studies Department Members


Alex Addison -
alexander_addison@ccpsnet.net

Jeff Bourassa - jeffrey_bourassa@ccpsnet.net

Olivia Bowersox - olivia_bowersox@ccpsnet.net

Shannon Castelo (Advanced Placement Liaison) - shannon_castelo@ccpsnet.net

Melissa Compton - melissa_compton@ccpsnet.net

Greg Defrancesco - gregory_defrancesco@ccpsnet.net

Greg Dommisse - gregory_dommisse@ccpsnet.net

Jeff Doyle - jeffrey_doyle@ccpsnet.net

Keenan Entsminger (Social Studies Department Chair) - keenan_entsminger@ccpsnet.net

Ned Flemming  - edward_flemming@ccpsnet.net

Bryan Hannum - bryan_hannum@ccpsnet.net

Warren Kempf - warren_kempf@ccpsnet.net

Cam Koehler (Success Program Coordinator) - cameron_koehler@ccpsnet.net

Ian Mcclure - ian_mcclure@ccpsnet.net

Zach Penney - zachary_penney@ccpsnet.net

Christine Ricks - christine_ricks@ccpsnet.net

Kelsey Robinson - Kelsey_Robinson@ccpsnet.net

Brad Wilhelm - bradford_wilhelm@ccpsnet.net

Andy Womble - andrew_womble@ccpsnet.net



 

SelectionFile type iconFile nameDescriptionSizeRevisionTimeUser