Deacon Nominations


Upon consideration of these qualifications, prayerfully submit your Deacon nomination(s) here

Term: August 1, 2017-July 31, 2018

The deacons of Carmel Baptist Church provide us with spiritual and service leadership. 

We seek the nominations of men who:

  • Meet the biblical qualifications outlined in Acts 6 and 1 Timothy 3
  • Meet the Carmel Baptist Church qualifications as outlined in items 1-9 below.

Biblical Guidance for Deacon Selection

  • Acts 6:3-8 instructs us to choose a man, “Full of the Holy Spirit and wisdom...a man full of faith."

  • 1 Timothy 3:8-13 discusses characteristics and qualities:
    Worthy of respect, sincere, not indulging in much wine, not pursuing dishonest gain, keeps hold of 
    the deep truths of faith with a clear conscience, must first be tested, and must be the husband of one wife.

Qualifications of a Deacon
  1. A deacon must surrender to the leadership and power of the Holy Spirit and accept the Bible as the authority for personal conduct and church policy. 

  2. A deacon must meet the qualifications as set forth in 1 Timothy 3 and Acts 6. 

  3. A deacon must understand his position to be one of “ministering servant.” 

  4. A deacon, after expressing his personal views and finding himself in the minority, must be willing to cooperate with the decision of the majority. 

  5. A deacon is to be blameless, above reproach, and exemplary in all of his conduct, realizing he is responsible for his weaker brother in all of his actions. 

  6. A deacon must tithe at least one-tenth of his total income to the support of the Lord’s work through Carmel Baptist Church. 

  7. A deacon will be expected to support the total program of Carmel Baptist Church with prayers and attendance. 

  8. A deacon must agree to keep confidential the deliberations of the deacons meetings for the best interest of the church. 

  9. A deacon must have been a member of Carmel Baptist Church for at least one year. 

The following are now serving or have served as active deacons in the past year and SHOULD NOT be nominated:

 Saul Amezquita Jeff Berl Bruce Blackmon
 Troy Brantley Joe Brooks Mike Burch
 Rick Burger John Capell Gary Cooper
 Jonathan Edwards Steve Erikson Ron Ezell, Jr
 Larry Goldman Ashley Harvey Ron Johnson
 Don Lane Matt McDermid Chris Miller
 Dan Miller Allen Neal Richard Nettles
 Joe Poats John Ratcliffe Stephen Renfrow
 Lance Richy Richard Roddy, Jr. Jerry Russell
 Larry Scott Tony Shelton Jim Turner
 Allen Weaver Hugo Wiens Jordan Womble
 Ed Woodall Dan Yardley Paul Zwierzynski

Upon consideration of these qualifications, prayerfully submit your nomination(s) here no later than February 11, 2018