Thursday 1 December, 2016
1-6pm, AMREP Lecture Theatre

HIV research symposium incorporating speakers 

from research, clinical and HIV-affected communities

The second Melbourne HIV Exchange (mHIVE) World AIDS Day (WAD) symposium will bring together and celebrate the key roles of HIV affected community members, clinicians and researchers and recognise how their partnership will ultimately work towards preventing, treating and curing HIV.

In 2016, our mHIVE World AIDS Day Symposium theme is 
Women and HIV

Program highlights include:

        Keynote presentation by     A/Prof Jo-Ann Passmore 
                                                        (University of Cape Town, South Africa) 

        Clinical perspective by        A/Prof Michelle Giles (Alfred/Monash) 

        HIV-affected community
        perspective by                       Deanna Blegg (Living Positive Victoria) 
        & featuring talks and poster presentations from selected abstracts


In 2016, ViiV Healthcare are sponsoring 4 prizes for presentations selected from abstracts:

ViiV Healthcare AIDS Scholarship ($5000)* - Best oral presentation among finalists speaking at the symposium to fund travel to the IAS or AIDS international HIV/AIDS conference. (Download T&Cs here)

ViiV Healthcare Oral Presentation Prize ($400) Runner up oral presentation among finalists speaking at the symposium.

ViiV Healthcare Student Poster Prize ($200) Best student poster presentation at the symposium.

ViiV Healthcare EMCR Poster Prize ($200) Best early-mid career researcher (EMCR) poster presentation at the symposium.

*work presented must not have been presented previously at an international conference.

The 2016 mHIVE WAD program is sponsored by:

and supported by our symposium partner:


Abstract submission is now closed.

Event Details 
mHIVE World AIDS Day Symposium 2016
Thursday, 1st Dec, 2016 
1.00PM – 6.00PM 

AMREP Lecture Theatre (Burnet Institute)
85-95 Commercial Rd,
Melbourne, VIC, 3004

Contact Details 
mHIVE Symposium committee 
Cath Latham 
Lachlan Gray 
Paula Ellenberg
Jacqueline Flynn
Anna Hearps 
Megan Crane 
Adam Wheatley 
Vijaya Madhavi
Georges Khoury
Jenny Hoy