Sharing the Site

  • One of the advantages of the Google sites platform is that you can easily share your site to allow multiple people access to edit or view your site. 
  • This enables the burden of creating and maintaining the site to be split among several people. 
  • Follow these steps to share your site with other people: 

To control who can access your site:
  • Click on the "More Actions" button in the upper right-hand side of the screen.
  • Click on "Manage Site"
  • Click on the Sharing tab.
  • Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share your site with.
  • Check the previous section on "Accessing the site", to decide what level of permission you want the individual to have.
  • Choose the level of permissions you wish to give them (Owner, Collaborator, Viewer)
  • Check the previous section on  "Accessing the site" to get an understanding of the differing levels of access you can grant.
  • Click "Invite these people".

Please note that for invitations to non-public Sites, users will need to log in with their Google Accounts before they can accept the invite.


To remove someone from a site:

  • Click on the "More Actions" button and choose Manage Site.
  • Click on the "Sharing" tab.
  • Locate the person you wish to remove from the site and click on the "Remove" link.

Breaking the lock:
  • Breaking the Lock when editing :- Due to the fact that multiple people can have access to the site, a situation can sometimes arise where one person is editing a page when another user comes along and clicks on the "Edit Page" button. In a situation such as this the second user will get a message saying “person one is currently editing this page” and be given a choice of “Break lock” or “Wait”
  • By “breaking the lock”, it will enable the second user to gain control over the page and edit it. However, be careful as breaking the lock affects your saving capabilities. If you choose to break the lock, and the other editor saves after you have saved your new changes, their version will overwrite your edits and vice-versa.
  • As such it is a good policy to have all those with edit rights to a site, agree never to break the lock but rather wait until the other person is finished. If for some reason it's an extremely urgent matter, you can always email the first user and find how how long they will be.