Deleting an Mail
Given the increased storage available we would recommend archiving the vast majority of your email as opposed to deleting it.
However if you wish to delete an email the procedure is as follows.
How do I delete emails?
If you want to delete one message in a conversation:
- Click the down arrow next to Reply, at the top-right of the message pane.
- Click Delete this message.
- The individual message is sent to Trash, and the rest of the conversation stays in your inbox.
You can easily delete a number of messages in one step:
- Select the emails you want to delete by checking the box to the left of the sender's name.
- Click the Delete button to move mail to Trash. (After a message or conversation has been in Trash for 30 days, it will be permanently deleted from your account.)
Permanently deleting an email
If you'd like to permanently delete a message yourself, follow these steps:
- First send the email to the Trash folder by folding one of the two procedures above.
- Then click Trash along the left side of the screen
- Check the box next to the message you'd like to permanently delete.
If you delete a message and then immediately decide you'd like to keep it:
- Click Undo in the yellow bar along the top of the page. (Your message will be removed from Trash and returned to its original location.)
Note: If you later decide that you need mail you've deleted, make sure to move it out of Trash before 30 days have passed. This way, the message won't be permanently deleted.