Home‎ > ‎


What are the mathematics standards?  

Click on this link to visit the CCSS mathematics document.

The CCSS mathematics outlines learning expectations in the areas of Counting and Cardinality (kindergarten only), Operations and Algebraic Thinking, Number and Operations in Base Ten, Number and Operations- Fractions (beginning in grade 3), Measurement and Data, and Geometry , for grades K-5.  The aim is for students to have a deep understanding of mathematics, not just procedural skills, and to apply this understanding by solving real world problems and actively discussing solutions.  In addition, students are expected to develop computational fluency.

What are the key ideas in the mathematics standards?

  • Develop a strong foundation in whole numbers, addition and subtraction, and measurement
  • Develop a deep understanding of multiplication, division, and fractions
 Mathematical  Practices

 Students should develop the behaviors and habits of successful math students.
For example:

  • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them
  • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning
  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively
  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others
  • Model with mathematics
  • Use appropriate tools strategically
  • Attend to precision
  • Look for and make use of structure