Home‎ > ‎BHS News‎ > ‎

Neff, Michel, and Miller receive teaching honors

posted Apr 3, 2018, 9:24 AM by Granger Meador   [ updated Apr 3, 2018, 10:23 AM ]
On March 27, various district staff were recognized, including various teachers at Bartlesville High School.
Warren Neff
BHS physics and STEM teacher Warren Neff has been named the District Teacher of the YearMr. Neff received a $2,500 cash award from the Schmoldt Family Foundation for Education. He also received two free round-trip airline tickets via the 10th Annual Chuck Spears Memorial Teacher of the Year Travel Award, presented by Gary Spears of Spears Travel. Mr. Neff became a Bartlesville Public School district teacher in 2003 and has long taught math courses, but this year is now teaching AP Physics 1 and Inquiry Physics as well as STEM Advanced Math Applications at Bartlesville High School.

Each of the nine candidates for Bartlesville Public School District's 2018 Teacher of the Year honor was introduced by one of their current or former students. Mr. Neff was introduced by Addison Deffenbaugh, one of his former Algebra II Honor students at Bartlesville High School.

Zack Michel
BHS social studies teacher Zack Michel was recognized as the high school's Rising Star Teacher for 2018. That award recognizes someone who has exemplified excellence in their entry years of teaching.  The Schmoldt Family Foundation for Education awarded $100 to a Rising Star Teacher from each school site.

Kayla Miller
Bruin Academy science teacher Kayla Miller was recognized as the District Secondary Schools Rookie of the Year.