Home‎ > ‎BHS News‎ > ‎

District Science Fair Awards

posted Feb 25, 2020, 7:33 AM by Granger Meador   [ updated Feb 26, 2020, 6:42 PM ]
State Science Fair Delegation
Bartlesville District Science Fair Director Gabi Farnham with students selected to go on to compete at the State Science Fair in March
The 68th annual Bartlesville District Science Fair was held at the Phillips 66 Technology Center in Bartlesville on February 21-22, 2020. About 150 elementary and 200 secondary student students from Washington, Rogers, Osage, and Nowata counties participated with the assistance of over 100 science professionals and enthusiasts who volunteered at the fair.

Other Oklahoma science fairs struggling in an era of STEM

Science fairs are direct scientific research opportunities for students with feedback from practicing scientists, researchers, doctors, engineerings, and other professionals. So it is frustrating that they are struggling to survive in Oklahoma even in an era that emphasizes Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education.

In 2017 the State Department of Education cut all funding for six regional fairs and the state science and engineering fair. The state fair only survived in 2018 at East Central University in Ada, which was its home for over 40 years, by means of a $50,000 donation from retired Ardmore dentist James Young. 

Dr. Julie Angle, an associate professor in the School of Teaching, Learning, and Educational Services at Oklahoma State University, worked to revive the state fair in 2019 at Oklahoma State University.  She is looking for a major donor or donors to step forward to fund the program, estimating that a little over $100,000 is needed each year to ensure a successful program without placing a lot of the expenses on the student participants.

The Bartlesville District Science Fair is reportedly the strongest science fair in the state, thanks to the generous support of Phillips 66, ConocoPhillips, ChevronPhillips, and multiple local professional societies and their members. District fair director Gabi Farnham told the Bartlesville Examiner-Enterprise, "This is the highest elementary participation our fair has had in the last 10 years. Elementary projects have a high potential to inspire future scientists."

According to Bartlesville Public Schools spokesman Granger Meador, "In recent years Bartlesville has become a premiere district for STEM education in the Project Lead the Way program. But for decades we have had dedicated Bartlesville Public School teachers who have invested their time, energy, and money in supporting science fair projects for their students. I have witnessed how this strong program of authentic scientific research has inspired countless students to pursue successful careers in science, engineering, medicine, and related fields. Science fairs are vital to a fully realized STEM program, and we are grateful that our district and our community continue to support them."

International Science & Engineering Fair

Three Bartlesville High School students were selected at the District Science Fair to have their projects compete at the International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF):
  • Kate Boudreaux, "Pinned in Fire: Effects That Thermal Processing Has on the Working Properties of a Steel Bobby Pin"
  • Michael Brockman, "Purifying Water with Artificial Intelligence"
  • Liam Wisner, "Going Up In Vapor: The Effects of Vaping on Mental Capacity"
ISEF Delegation

Those students and their teachers, Cheryl Fentress, Tonya Knollmeyer, and Gary Layman, will be sent to the ISEF in Anaheim, CA from May 10-15, 2020.

Alternates for the ISEF are:
  • Joyce Yang, "Water Conservation in Soil"
  • Bryce Goodin, Colton McCullough & Caleb Cochran, "Conserving Water through the Filtration and Recyclation of Greywater in a Domestic System"

Oklahoma State Science & Engineering Fair

State Fair Projects

State Fair
These students qualified at the district fair to compete at the Oklahoma State Science & Engineering Fair on March 26-28 at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater:
  • Elise Argo
  • Maurie Armstrong
  • Tanner Benbrook
  • Landon Bidleman
  • Kate Boudreaux
  • Michael Brockman
  • Logan Cates
  • Isabella Cavaceci
  • Madison Chaffin
  • Caleb Cochran
  • Bennett Dillsaver
  • Samuel Farris
  • Daniela Ferguson
  • Bryce Goodin
  • Evan Gunter
  • Madison Heckelsberg
  • Ella Higgs
  • Morgan King
  • Owen King
  • Adam Lodrigueza
  • Brendon Lydon
  • Colton McCullough
  • Isabella Morrison
  • Tatiana Naylor
  • Ashley Ramsey
  • Samarah Robinson
  • Morgan Sanders
  • Emma Sanderson
  • Trenton Taylor
  • Zoe Thompson
  • Quincey Turner
  • Liam Wisner
  • Joyce Yang
Alternates for the state fair are:
  • Alex Cary 
  • TJ Hawkins
  • Ian Holdman
  • Victor San Juan Gonzalez
  • Catherine Sheffield