Summer Reading List 2019

Monday's Not Coming by Tiffany Jackson - Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable—more sisters than

friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.


Dear Martin by Nic Stone - Justyce writes a series of letters to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to try to sort out his questions about the state of civil rights in present-day America.


Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All by Candace Fleming - The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six wives are reimagined by seven acclaimed and bestselling authors in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix's The Crown.


The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler by John Hendrix - Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more menacing every day. Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a pastor upset by the complacency of the German church toward the suffering around it, forms a breakaway church to speak out against the established political and religious authorities. When the Nazis outlaw the church, he escapes as a fugitive. Struggling to reconcile his faith and the teachings of the Bible with the Nazi Party’s evil agenda, Bonhoeffer decides that Hitler must be stopped by any means possible!


The Unwanted: Stories of the Syrian Refugees by Don Brown - Presents a visual account of the events of Syrian refugees' attempt to escape the horrors of their country's civil war in search of a better tomorrow.


Spooked! By Gail Jarrow - How a radio broadcast and The War of the Worlds sparked the 1938 invasion of America.  Recommended title from the Beverly Middle School summer reading list.


The Waning Age by S.E. Grove - A tale set in an alternate-world San Francisco where people gradually lose their emotions as they become adults tells of a teen confronting the world's most powerful company when she retains a fierce love for her little brother. Much of this book was written at the Beverly Public Library. Meet the author at the Beverly Public Library on September 11!


All Rights Reserved by Gregory Scott Katsoulis - Preparing to deliver her Last Day speech to celebrate her new adulthood in a world where every word and gesture is copyrighted, patented or trademarked, a 15-year-old girl elects to remain silent rather than pay to speak, a decision that threatens to unravel the fabric of society.


Kindred by Octavia E. Butler - Dana finds herself repeatedly transported to the antebellum South, where she must make sure that Rufus, the plantation owner's son, survives to father Dana's ancestor.


I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou - One of America’s foremost poets recalls the anguish of her childhood in Arkansas and her adolescence in northern slums.


This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel - A family reshapes their ideas about family, love and loyalty when youngest son Claude reveals increasingly determined preferences for girls' clothing and accessories and refuses to stay silent.


Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett Krosoczka - A powerful, award-winning graphic memoir traces the author's unconventional coming of age with a drug-addict mother, an absent father and two lovingly opinionated grandparents.


The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson - Candice Miller is spending the summer in Lambert, South Carolina, in the old house that belonged to her grandmother, who died after a political disgrace. When she finds a letter that sent her grandmother on the treasure hunt that ended her career, she finds herself caught up in the mystery. - Recommended title from the Beverly Middle School summer reading list.


A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi - A year after 9/11, Muslim teenager Shirin has completely withdrawn from social life, until she meets Ocean James in her biology class and is tempted to actually let her guard down.


What If It's Us by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera - Told in two voices, when Arthur, a summer intern from Georgia, and Ben, a native New Yorker, meet it seems like fate, but after three attempts at dating fail they wonder if the universe is pushing them together or apart.


Love and First Sight by Josh Sundquist - Sixteen-year-old blind teen Will Porter undergoes an experimental surgery that enables him to see for the first time, all while navigating a new school, new friends, and a crush. Recommended title from the Beverly Middle School summer reading list.


Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil deGrasseTyson - The notable host of StarTalk reveals just what people need to be fluent and ready for the next cosmic headlines: from the Big Bang to black holes, from quarks to quantum mechanics, and from the search for planets to the search for life in the universe. Also available as Astrophysics for Young People in a Hurry.


Becoming by Michelle Obama - An intimate memoir by the former First Lady chronicles the experiences that have shaped her remarkable life, from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago through her setbacks and achievements in the White House.


Becoming Kareem: Growing Up On and Off the Court by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar - An autobiography about Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and his life growing up in New York, becoming the basketball star he's known to be, and getting involved in the world around him as an activist for social change. Recommended title from the Beverly Middle School summer reading list.


Carry On: A Story of Resilience, Redemption, and an Unlikely Family by Lisa Fenn - An Emmy-winning ESPN producer, and Beverly resident, describes how she developed a surprising, profound and lasting bond with two disabled inner-city high school wrestlers after filming a segment about them for television. Meet the author at the Beverly Public Library on September 11!


Game On!: Video Game History from Pong and Pac-man to Mario, Minecraft, and More by Dustin Hansen - Presents the history of video games, from Pong, the very first arcade game, to modern console hits, and includes historical trivia and innovations that make each game special. Recommended title from the Beverly Middle School summer reading list.


Dread Nation by Justina Ireland - When families go missing in Baltimore County, Jane McKeene, who is studying to become an Attendant, finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy that has her fighting for her life against powerful enemies.


Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu - In a small Texas town where high school football reigns supreme, Viv, sixteen, starts a feminist revolution using anonymously-written zines.


(Don't) Call Me Crazy: 33 Voices Start the Conversation about Mental Health by Kelly Jensen - Presents an anthology of essays that illuminate such mental health topics as autism, bipolar disorder, body dysmorphia, depression, and healing.


Bad With Money by Gaby Dunn - Dunn uses humor and personal anecdotes when revealing the legitimate, systemic reasons behind feelings of helplessness when it comes to personal finance, and offers a guide to dealing with money issues like how to choose an insurance plan or buy a car, sign up for a credit card or take out student loans. Recommended for students in grades 11 and 12.


The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo - Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.


The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir - A debut novel by a local writer that tells of family, fame, and religion that tells the emotionally stirring, wildly captivating story of the seventeen-year-old daughter of an evangelical preacher, star of the family's hit reality show, and the secret pregnancy that threatens to blow their entire world apart. Meet the author at the Beverly Public Library on September 11!
Comments