About Us‎ > ‎

Governing Body

Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about Belmont Infant School’s governors, and the work that we do. Our main role is to support the headteacher and the staff of Belmont Infant School. We help them to set priorities and achieve targets so that we can strive for excellence across every aspect of school life.

Our legal duties include:-
  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

The Governing Body meets at least once every term. We also have committees, working groups or nominated lead governors to look at particular areas. These include: finance and personnel, health and safety, special educational needs, child protection, early years, and curriculum.

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school and there are a fixed number of each. They are Community governors, Local Authority governors, parents and staff. All governors have equal status, however they are appointed.

As a governing body we are committed to providing the best education and school experience for every child at Belmont Infants.

We welcome all parents and carers to attend our Governing Body meetings. The dates of upcoming meetings can be found and also on the notice board at the entrance to the school. You can also contact us via the school office if you have any concerns or queries.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Dan Rosenberg
Chair of Governors


Membership of the Governing Body 2018-19:

Local Authority Governors
Nirmalee Wanduragala

Co-opted Governors
Dan Rosenberg (Chair of Governors)
Brittany Jones
Anna Laura Lock
Richard Walker
Aalekh Srivastava
Sarah Tuck

Parent Governors 
Cassie Birtwistle
Paula Rison-Gray

Headteacher Governor
Fiona Crean (Headteacher)

Staff Governor
Jean Schembri

Governing body meeting minutes from previous years: