District #118 Sports Field Day Results

posted May 17, 2017, 5:53 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated May 17, 2017, 5:53 AM ]

Sixth Grade:  1st place: Roosevelt
                     2nd place: Abraham Lincoln
                     3rd place: Westhaven

Fifth Grade:  1st place:  Westhaven
                    2nd place:  Abraham Lincoln
                    3rd place:  Henry Raab

Fourth Grade:  1st place:  Abraham Lincoln
                       2nd place:  Roosevelt
                       3rd place:  Franklin and Jefferson

Arthur Herman Memorial Trophy Winner: Abraham Lincoln
Henry Zaber Memorial Trophy Winner:  Westhaven
 PTA Council Memorial Trophy Winner:  Roosevelt

Small School Points Winner:  Franklin and Jefferson

Brian Thompson-Coach of the Year!

posted May 17, 2017, 5:44 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated May 17, 2017, 5:46 AM ]

Brian Thompson receiving the Coach of the Year award
On Saturday, May 6th Coach Brian Thompson was honored at the 45th Annual Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Induction Banquet.  He was honored with the 2017 Boys' Junior High Coach of the Year Award for District 19 for his 26-1 season and 2nd place in the SIJHSAA Class L State Tournament.  We are very proud of our WJH Coach of the Year!

Belleville District #118 Designated as a 2017 National District of Character!

posted May 9, 2017, 12:40 PM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated May 9, 2017, 12:41 PM ]

We are proud to announce that District #118 is one of four districts in the nation to be selected as a National District of Character.  This distinction is a reflection of the work that our staff and students do every day.  

Congratulations to our District #118 family!!!

2017 National District of Character Badge

20th Annual Belleville #118 Educational Foundation Golf Tournament

posted May 3, 2017, 6:42 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated May 9, 2017, 12:35 PM ]

The golf tournament will be held on Friday, June 9, 2017 at the Orchards.  If you are interested in being a hole sponsor or have a team to play, please complete the registration form and return to 105 West A St., Belleville, IL  62220.

Thank you

Optimist Club Oratorical Contest

posted Feb 28, 2017, 8:15 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated Feb 28, 2017, 8:15 AM ]

Five students from Central Junior high and one student from West Junior High participated in the Optimist Club Oratorical Contest on Tuesday, February 21st at Bel- Court Place. From Central: Dajah Gilmer, Morgan Murphy, Khaleo Price, Garrett Shanks, and Jack Shaaf. From West Junior: Cydney Wilkerson.  All six students spoke on the topic, “What the World Gains from Optimism. “ All of the students did a fantastic job representing their home school, and District 118.  Dajah Gilmer and Khaleo Price received first place honors and will advance to the next level of competition.



Optimist Club Oratorical Contest

Top Row- Left to Right- Signal Hill Student, Garrett Shanks, Jack Shaaf

Bottom Row= Cydney Wilkerson, Dajah Gilmer, Morgan Murphy, Khaleo Price

February "Do the Right Thing" Winners

posted Feb 28, 2017, 5:56 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated Feb 28, 2017, 5:56 AM ]

During the February "Do the Right Thing" ceremony on February 22, 2017, the following students were recognized:

Christopher Craig--Union School
Maleek Perkins--Union School
Prior Wells--Union School
Willie Harris--Westhaven School
Alyssa Hoover--Union School
Tarigee Hughes--Union School
Kylie Kehl--Westhaven School
Skyler Shanks--Westhaven School
Bradley Wittenauer--Westhaven School


Racial Harmony The Gathering: Students Reaching Out, Taking a Hand and Lifting Up

posted Feb 27, 2017, 7:55 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated Feb 27, 2017, 7:55 AM ]

The Center for Racial Harmony presented the 24th Annual Racial Harmony Gathering on Sunday, February 26, 2017, at First United Presbyterian Church in Belleville.  Established in the 1990s, Racial Harmony is dedicated to promoting understanding, cooperation and communication among all races and ethnic groups.  This celebration recognizes the achievements of local youth, and the commitment and support of community leaders.  The 2017 Racial Harmony awards are presented to outstanding students who have demonstrated the qualities of peacemaking, goodwill, and harmonious respect for all people.  This year’s winners include the following District #118 students: 


Willie Marchbanks, Grade 6, Abraham Lincoln School
China Littlejohn, Grade 6, Douglas School
Marley Fuhrman, Grade 5, Franklin School
Xavier Holloman, Grade 6, Henry Raab School
Marta Silva, Grade 2, Jefferson School
Cecilia Murnane, Grade 4, Roosevelt School
Cornell Eiland, Grade 1, Union School 
Victoria Adewole, Grade 5, Westhaven School              
Jordan Warner, Grade 8, Central Junior High School  

Andre White, Grade 8, West Junior High School 


West Junior High Chess Team

posted Feb 23, 2017, 11:58 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated Feb 24, 2017, 5:09 AM ]

Recently the West Junior High Chess Team competed in the 2017 Belle-Fair Conference.  The Westerners Chess Team placed First and were named the 2017 Belle-Fair Conference Champions.

Congratulations Westerners Chess Team!!!

WJH Chess Team
WEST JUNIOR HIGH CHESS TEAM 2017 BELLE-FAIR CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS FRONT: Christian Gaerte, Dakota Stern, Eden Gaerte, Quinn Van Horn, Dominic Smith, Elijah Reynolds BACK: Jamin McBride, Eladge Diouf, Xander Van Horn, Mr. Agne, Jolene Weaver.

Belleville District #118 featured in the Belleville News Democrat

posted Feb 14, 2017, 10:42 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated Feb 14, 2017, 10:45 AM ]

Young Authors 2017:

Young Authors 2017:

Waterloo family loves to play games:

Belleville studio fosters new generation of metro-east artists:

Belleville District #118 Recognized by State Superintendent Tony Smith, Ph.D.

posted Feb 8, 2017, 10:06 AM by Karin Buckingham   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 10:30 AM ]

Belleville District #118 Recognized by State Superintendent Tony Smith, Ph.D. in his weekly message dated February 7, 2017.  

"In that same vein, congratulations to the 2017 Illinois Schools of Character! The award recognizes schools or districts with outstanding character education that has led to positive school climate and enhanced academic performance. Belleville School District 118 is the first school district in Illinois to receive this award. St. Mary of the Angels School in Chicago and Freeburg Primary Center in Freeburg have been named 2017 Illinois Schools of Character, and Forest Park Individual Education School in Joliet has been named an Honorable Mention School of Character. Learn more about the award at "

Please visit the link for the full message from State Superintendent Tony Smith, Ph.D.

Congratulations Belleville P.S. District #118!

1-10 of 29