Year 9&10‎ > ‎

Options for Years 11 & 12

With so many options, choosing a course and a career direction can be tough.
Year 9 and 10 is the time to start considering and planning for your
further education and career direction.

        What is VCE?    What is VCAL?    What is VET?     What is an ATAR?


The Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) is a certificate
that recognises the successful completion of secondary education in Victoria.

A VCE program includes a
number  of different VCE studies
(or subjects),  the majority of
which have four units available
over the two years (a unit
represents one semester, or
a half year of work).
Units 1 and 2 are typically taken in Year 11, Units 3 and 4 in Year 12.

Most students will also have
completed Unit 1&2 of a VCE
subject in year 10.

To graduate with the VCE, students must satisfactorily complete a
minimum total of 16 units over
Years 11 and 12, although 20 to 24 units is generally the norm.

Students who are planning on
entering University after year 12,
and who require an ATAR score,
will be enrolled into VCE for
Year 11 & 12.

VCE Coordinator:
Susan Hooper


The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL) is a practical
option for students in
Years 11 and 12.

VCAL is designed
for students who want to stay at
school and finish their year 12,
and most likely to go on to training at TAFE institutes, do an apprenticeship
or get a job after completing school, rather than applying for university.

For the VCAL, fully accredited modules and units are selected  for the following four compulsory strands:

  • literacy and numeracy skills
  • work related skills
  • industry specific skills
  • personal development skills.

Students who successfully complete
the VCAL, like students who
complete the VCE, receive a
certificate and a statement of
results that detail the areas of study
they have completed.
VCAL students do not have to sit the
GAT unless they are enrolled in a
scored VCE VET Unit 3 and 4
sequence or a Unit 3 and 4
VCE subject.

VCAL Coordinator:
Lara Curtis-Morris


Vocational Education and Training
in Schools (VET or VETiS)
programs are nationally recognised
VET qualifications undertaken
by senior student as part of their
VCE (optional) or the
VCAL (compulsory).

Nationally recognised VET training counts towards a VET qualification,
as well as the VCE or VCAL.
It allows students to mix their general
and vocational educations
and provides a start on training for
a career before leaving school.

Most VET students attend TAFE or
other venue throughout  the academic year. Most VET qualifications take
two years to complete. 

The training teaches skills and
knowledge needed in particular occupations and workplaces, and normally includes some workplace experience that puts these into
practice. As well as readying
students for the workforce,
VET programs can lead to further
study, either in the VET sector
(where students can gain credit for
their VET certificate) or university,
since results from some VET
programs can be included in the calculation of an ATAR score
(used for entrance to university).

VET Coordinator:
Hilary Mahoney