AJ Waines Novels can be read in any order
Series books can also be read as standalones

Latest Thriller (May 2018)
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07CLKBQQ9
  7. Don't you Dare (published by Bloodhound Books)
 

 What if your daughter becomes your enemy?

When barmaid, Rachel, discovers her soon-to-be-married daughter, Beth,​ pinned down by a  stranger in the pub cellar, Rachel lashes out in panic and the intruder ends up dead. In desperation, Rachel convinces Beth they should cover up the crime and go ahead with the planned wedding in one month’s time.

 Rachel, however, has her own reasons for not involving the police.

Hiding their dreadful secret is harder than they both imagined and as the big day approaches and the lies multiply, Beth becomes a liability. Rachel looks on in dismay at the hen party​ ​when, after too many drinks, Beth declares she’s about to make a special announcement. But before Beth can say a word, she disappears...

 When two people share a chilling secret, can both hold their nerve?

 This book explores the dark side of a mother-daughter relationship when pushed to the limit and will appeal to fans of authors like Ruth Ware, Clare Mackintosh and C.L. Taylor.

 BUY on Amazon



'What an entrance! ... an explosion of thrills, a roller-coaster of a read that will have you second guessing...' 5 star review

There's a body in the water - and she's wearing your clothes...

Impulsive and intrepid psychotherapist, Juliet Grey, can’t resist responding to an anonymous text message telling her to go to Hammersmith Bridge at dawn. But it isn’t simply the dead body in the water that disturbs her, it’s the way something uniquely personal to Juliet has been left on the corpse.

Another obscure message - another London bridge - and Juliet finds herself caught up with a serial killer, who leaves personal mementos instead of collecting trophies.

Teaming up with local detective, DCI Brad Madison, Juliet strives to find out why she has been targeted and how it’s connected to the accident that killed her brother, nineteen years ago.

Can Juliet use her knowledge of the human psyche to get inside the mind of the killer, before another body is found under a bridge? And how long before Juliet herself becomes the next target?

BUY on Amazon



2. Girl on a Train

Number One bestseller in entire UK and Australian Amazon Charts

Everything points to suicide - but I saw her face...

Headstrong Journalist, Anna Rothman knows what suicide looks like - her own husband killed himself five years earlier.

When Elly Swift, an agitated passenger beside her on a train, leaves a locket in Anna’s bag before jumping onto the tracks, Anna starts asking awkward questions. But it's got suicide written all over it and the police close the case.

Anna, however, believes Elly’s fears for Toby, her young nephew, missing since being snatched from St Stephen’s church six months ago, fail to explain the true reason behind Elly’s distress. Through a series of cryptic clues Elly left behind, Anna starts asking awkward questions, embarking on a dangerous crusade to track down Toby and find Elly’s killer.

But nothing is as it seems and Anna opens a can of worms that throws into question the death of her husband, five years earlier - before the threads of the mystery converge in an astonishing conclusion.

BUY on Amazon



'Dark and atmospheric.'    '...her best one so far.' 5 star reviews

She’s trying to tell you – if only you’d listen…

About to break the news to his wife, Diane, that he’s infertile, criminology expert, Harper Penn, gets a call to say she’s been rushed to hospital with a miscarriage. Five days later, when Diane fails to return from the village shop, police think she must have taken off with a secret lover, but Harper is convinced the online messages are not from her.

In the same Hampshire village, plucky seven-year-old Clara has retreated into a make-believe world after an accident. Then she, too, goes missing.

As Harper sets out on a desperate quest to find them both, he has no idea what he’s up against. Could the threat be closer than he thinks? And is there a hidden message in Clara’s fairy tales?

DARK PLACE TO HIDE is a chilling psychological mystery with a cold-blooded deviant lurking at the core.

BUY on Amazon



4. No Longer Safe

30,000+ copies sold in the first month

‘…a disturbing psychological thriller that will resonate in your mind for many days to come. You will not forget this novel! It is that good.’ 5 star review

She was your best friend. Now she’s your deadliest enemy – and there’s nowhere to run…

 When Alice receives an invitation from Karen, her charismatic University friend, to stay in a remote cottage in Scotland, she can’t wait to rekindle their lost friendship. But two more former students arrive – never friends of Alice’s – and as the atmosphere chills, Karen isn’t the warm-hearted soulmate Alice remembers. 

Barely is the reunion underway before someone is dead and the fragile gathering is pushed to breaking point. As the snow cuts them off from civilisation and accusations fly, Alice finds herself a pawn, sinking deeper into a deadly game she can’t escape.

NO LONGER SAFE is a chilling Psychological Thriller that delivers a delicious sting in the tail.

                                          BUY on  Amazon


5. Inside the Whispers
(Dr Samantha Willerby Series - Book 1) - can also be read as a standalone

'Superb Psychological Thriller' 5 stars - says bestselling author E.M. Powell

Where the most Dangerous place – is inside your own head…

Following a London Tube disaster, three traumatised survivors turn to clinical psychologist, Dr Samantha Willerby, for help – but she’s mystified when their stories don’t add up. Her confusion turns to horror when one by one, instead of recovering, they start committing suicide.

When her partner, Conrad, begins to suffer the same terrifying flashbacks, Sam is desperate to find out what is causing them and a mysterious and chilling crime begins to unravel.

Then the flashbacks begin for Sam…

The first book in the Dr Samantha Willerby Series, INSIDE THE WHISPERS is a tense, haunting Psychological Thriller that will leave your nerves in shreds.
BUY on Amazon


 
6. Lost in the Lake
(Dr Samantha Willerby Series - Book 2) - can also be read as a standalone

 She came at first for answers…now she’s back for you

Amateur viola player Rosie Chandler is the sole survivor of a crash which sends members of a string quartet plunging into a lake.

Convinced the ‘accident’ was deliberate, but unable to recall what happened, she is determined to recover her lost memories and seeks out clinical psychologist, Dr Samantha Willerby.

But Rosie is hiding something…

Sam is immediately drawn to the tragic Rosie and as she helps her piece the fragments together, the police find disturbing new evidence which raises further questions. Why is Rosie so desperate to recover her worthless viola? And what happened to the violin lost in the crash, worth over £2m?

When Rosie insists they return to the lake to relive the fatal incident, the truth about Rosie finally creeps up on Sam – but by now, she’s seriously out of her depth…

The second book in the Dr Samantha Willerby series, LOST IN THE LAKE is a nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat Psychological Thriller that will leave you glancing over your shoulder.

BUY on Amazon

 Follow AJ Waines on: Twitter   Facebook   Blog   Join NEWSLETTER   Goodreads  Bookbub  Pinterest