Women's XC Wins WHAC Championship

posted Nov 10, 2014, 3:44 PM by Nicholas Whise
11/08/2014 – The women's cross country team placed first out of ten schools at the WHAC Championships. The meet was contested at Riverside Park in Grand Rapids. The Saints received an automatic bid to the NAIA National Championships based off their first place finish at today's meet. The Saints, who ran the fourth fastest team time in school histoy, were led by the efforts of Carley Woolcott, Molly Peregrine, Catie Rietsema and Crysta Paganelli. All four were named to the All-WHAC First Team and will travel to Lawrence, Kansas in two weeks to compete at the NAIA National Championships.

Woolcott placed third overall with a personal time of 18:31, while Peregrine (18:34) and Rietsema (18:37) finished forth and fifth place respectively. Peregrine received the WHAC Newcomer of the Year Award based off her finish against other first year participants in the conference. Paganelli earned the last All-WHAC First Team spot by finishing 7th in a time of 19:01. Clare Naughton and Kathy Middaugh, who both covered the 5k in 19:15, earned a spot on the Honorable Mention All-WHAC team by way of their 9th and 11th place finishes. Sydney Anderson (15th - 19:23) rounded out the scoring for the Saints.

Krystin Dreyer was chosen as Aquinas' representative on the conference's Champions of Character team, as well as earning a spot on the WHAC's All-Academic team. The Saints were also represented by Jessica Dippel, Rachael Steil, Megan Skinner, Taylor Pyrde, Emily Hazelbach and Paganelli on the All-Academic team. Head Coach Mike Wojciakowski was named WHAC Women's Coach of the Year.

Final Scores

1. Aquinas 28
2. Indiana Tech 62
3. Cornerstone 76
4. Siena Heights 86
5. Concordia 156
6. Madonna 168
7. Davenport 187
8. Michigan Dearborn 241
9. Lawrence Tech 268
10. Lourdes 279