Men's XC Wins Fourth Straight WHAC Title

posted Nov 10, 2014, 3:45 PM by Nicholas Whise
11/08/2014 – The men's cross team has now won the last four and eleven of the last thirteen WHAC Championships after capturing the 2014 title today. The Saints bested a field of ten schools at the annual championships contested at Riverside Park. By way of their victory the Saints earned an automatic bid to the NAIA National Championships in Lawrence, Kansas in two weeks.

The Saints were led by a quartet of All-WHAC First Team performers. Jacob Towne, who finished in 25:36, led the Aquinas pack with a second place finish. Stephen Glinski (25:47), Jeff Cherry (25:54) and Grant Gunneson (25:56) placed 4th, 5th and 6th respectively to secure the title for the Saints. Cal Morgan (26:23) and Tom Willet (26:24) both earned spots on the All-WHAC Honorable Mention squad based off their 13th and 14th place finishes. Brad Perschbacher (26:51) rounded out the scoring for the Saints with a 17th place finish in the 89 person field.

Towne, Perschbacher, Grant Cook and Nick Whise were also honored by the league as Academic All-WHAC recipients. Nicholas Tarsa was named Aquinas' representative on the WHAC's Champion of Character squad. Head Coach Mike Wojciakowski was named the WHAC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year and the league's Coach of Character.

Team Scores

1. Aquinas 30
2. Indiana Tech 43
3. Cornerstone 95
4. Davenport 133
5. Madonna 145
6. Lawrence Tech 158
7. Siena Heights 169
8. Michigan Dearborn 229
9. Concordia 234
10. Lourdes 290