Biology‎ > ‎

Unit 10

Chapter Overview
Students learn how taxonomy categorizes all of Earth’s life forms.  They learn how to use the standardized taxonomic system that scientists use to categorize organisms based on similarities and differences shared among groups.  In addition, the importance of common classification systems is explored in this unit.  Students determine and compare characteristics that define the six currently recognized kingdoms.  Students analyze data and information regarding characteristics of organisms in order to make predictions and inferences about the classification of living organisms.

Main Ideas
All living organisms are classified into various groups according to similarities and differences.

Students may think animals and plants are the only living organisms.
Students may think that fungi are plants and that they make their own food. 

Cladogram or Phylogenetic Tree – a branching diagram used to show evolutionary relationships among organisms
Dichotomous Key – tool used to identify species of organisms using observable characteristics
Hierarchical Classification System – a system of scientific taxonomy used to categorize organisms into subgroups (taxons) within larger groups
Taxonomy – the process or system of describing the ways in which organisms are grouped or classified according to similarities and differences
Autotroph - able to make its own food (energy)
Heterotroph - gets its food (energy) from other sources
Unicellular - one cell
Multicellular - made of more than one cell
Motile - able to move around

Other Valuable Resources

Quick Recap of the Kingdoms

6 Kingdoms

Crash Course: Taxonomy and Kingdoms