Southwest Vermont Union Elementary School District

Per the State Board of Education’s final report under Act 46, which was issued on Nov. 30, 2018, the Bennington, Pownal, Shaftsbury, and Woodford Elementary School Districts will be merged into a single union elementary district by July 1, 2019.

This process will be overseen by a transitional board, made up of the chairperson and clerk of each of the four district boards as they were composed on July 30, 2018.

The New Union District is responsible for the prekindergarten through grade 6 education of students residing in the towns of Bennington, Pownal, Shaftsbury, and Woodford.

Board Members

Transitional SVUESD Board Members

Transitional Board members will serve until the initial board is elected. Tentative date is April 23, 2019.
Deadline for submitting candidate petitions to designated Town Clerks is March 11, 2019 by the end of the business day.

Cynthia Brownell - PSD - Vice Chair
Dick Frantz - WSD
Scott McEnaney - SSD - Clerk
Ed Molloy - SSD
Christopher Murphy - BSD - Chair
Jackie Prue - BSD
Tammy Sohl - PSD
Mark Tilley - WSD


Committee Assignments

Finance:   TBA
Food Advisory:   TBA
Personnel:   TBA
Policy:   TBA
Technology:   TBA