8th Grade Band‎ > ‎


Orpheus Honor Band at Simpson College

posted Feb 6, 2014, 2:20 PM by Ronald Ferneau   [ updated Feb 6, 2014, 2:31 PM ]

On Tuesday, January 21st, six 7th grade band students and five 8th grade band students from Ames Middle School traveled to Simpson College in Indianola to participate in the Orpheus Middle School Honor Band.      

AMS 7th Graders selected to Orpheus Honor Band:

Brayden Bergum - Horn

Adam Eichorn - Trombone

Peter Jaynes - Tuba

Lydia Linch - Alto Sax

Andrew Greene - Bari Sax

Aubree Litster - Clarinet

AMS 8th Graders selected to Orpheus Honor Band:

Sarah Farwell - Bari Sax

Kourtney Barr - Flute

Emma Cai - Clarinet

Sara Shen - Flute

Olivia Lauber - Alto Sax

This was the 26th annual festival for junior high and middle school band students from around the state of Iowa.  The day's events culminated with a concert in Pote Theatre, Blank Performing Arts Center, at 7 pm. featuring the Orpheus Festival Bands under the direction of guest conductors Steve McCombs and Dalene O'Brien.

AMS Students at SCIBA District Honor Band

posted Nov 14, 2013, 2:51 PM by Ronald Ferneau   [ updated Nov 14, 2013, 2:54 PM ]

On Tuesday, November 5th, thirteen Ames Middle School band students participated in the South Central Iowa Bandmasters (SCIBA) Middle School Honor Band Festival at Knoxville High School. This annual event involves students from more than 70 school districts. Students rehearsed with guest conductors during the day, then performed an evening concert.

Eighth grade students are selected based upon live auditions. Students auditioned in Waukee on Tuesday, October 1st, and those selected from AMS include: Eileen Murray and Laura Emery (flute); Grace Lee, Benjamin Moats and Arie Sirotiak (clarinet); Ada Harpole and Julia White (alto sax); Nathan Paskach (trumpet); Channing Che (trombone); and Isak Werner Anderson (french horn).  All the AMS eighth grade musicians selected earned spots in the top SCIBA District Honor Band. 

Additionally, Eileen Murray, Grace Lee, Benjamin Moats, Nathan Paskach and Isak Werner Anderson earned selection to the Iowa Bandmasters Association All-Iowa 8th Grade Honor Band.  That group will meet and perform in May. 

Congratulations to all AMS students selected for the SCIBA Honor Band Festival!

1-2 of 2