The Steele Canyon Players’ Mission is to provide an outlet for passionate performers to express their love of theatre, and to inspire others through  personal and group development in an encouraging and professional environment.


A tremendous thank you to last season's sponsors:   

Spotlight Sponsor
 A Christmas Carol  
Production Sponsor  
Les Miserables 

Michael J. Slater Family 
Spotlight Sponsor 
Steele Canyon Players Drama Department

The Abbott Family 


   "All the world's a stage..." - William Shakespeare

Steele Canyon High School’s standards based theatre curriculum is designed with the fundamental belief that the arts should be taught for their intrinsic value.  At every level/dimension of the theatre coursework, students can expect to broaden their knowledge, and challenge their abilities as actors and producers of theatre, while developing a strong understanding of stagecraft, acting practices, audition/rehearsal techniques, character development, and script writing/analysis.  Additionally, theatre history, culture, and design methodologies will be examined and career opportunities will be explored.  As a result of this work, students will experience invaluable training in skills necessary for their academic, social, and critical thinking future.  Through creating theater, students will grow in their ability to comprehend the world and communicate with others.  

The Steele Canyon Players are proud recipients of the following 2019 Awards:

 .                           .                              

Broadway San Diego:

Best Actress: Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur as Eponine in Les Miserables

 Broadway San Diego Winner/New York Jimmy Awards Competitor: Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur

Best Theatre Teacher in San Diego: Nicole LaBella

National Youth Arts Awards:

  • Supporting Performance in a Musical: Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur as Eponine in Les Miserables
  • Ensemble: Les Miserables
  • Set Design: Jason McIntyre for Les Miserables 

National Youth Arts Nominations:

  • Outstanding Production: A Christmas Carol
  • Outstanding Production: Les Miserables 
  • Lead Performance in a Musical: Jackson Shaffer as Jean Valjean in Les Miserables
  • Supporting Performance in a Musical: Rosemary Barrack as Fantine in Les Miserables
  •  Supporting Performance in a Musical: Brice Cloke as Marius in Les Miserables
  • Supporting Performance in a Musical: Claire Doucet as Madame Thenardier in Les Miserables
  • Supporting Performance in a Musical: Sean Huitt as Inspector Javert in Les Miserables
  • Featured Performance in a Musical: Wyatt Gardner as Gavroche in Les Miserables
  • ​Featured Performance in a Musical: Megan Singer as Young Cosette in Les Miserables
  • Featured Performance in a Musical: Ryan Singer as Enjolras in Les Miserables
  • Featured Performance in a Play: Sydney Villa as Belle in A Christmas Carol
  • Ensemble: A Christmas Carol
  • Costume Design: Rebecca Seiley for A Christmas Carol
  • Costume Design: Rebecca Seiley for Les Miserables
  • Set Design: Jason McIntyre for A Christmas Carol
  • Youth Orchestra:  A Christmas Carol
  • Youth Orchestra: Les Miserables
  • Musical Direction: Heather Luck for Les Miserables
  • Direction: Nicole La Bella for A Christmas Carol
  • Direction: Nicole La Bella for Les Miserables