Camden County

Camden County Drainage - Report a Problem

Camden County Soil & Water Conservation District Board meetings are held in conjunction with 4 other counties in the Albemarle District.  County business meetings are called as need arises and per request of any resident of the Camden County with approval of 2 or more board members. 

The next Albemarle District Supervisors Meeting will take place Thursday, June 13, 2019  @7pm in Currituck County at the Cooperative Extension Building, 120 Community Way, Barco, NC 27917.             NC Ag Cost Share Program                  Community Conservation Assistance Program

 Run Swamp Canal 

    Abner Wayne Staples - 10 Years of Service                


The Albemarle (Camden) Soil & Water Conservation District Board and staff have the responsibility of developing and carrying out a program of both conservation and protection of soil & water resources to prevent loss of valuable topsoil and degradation of water quality.

The mission of the Camden Board and staff is to provide technical and educational assistance, administer conservation programs, and provide financial assistance through various cost share programs both federal and state.
  • Works closely with the USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service and other cooperating agencies to assist and educate all landowners in proper use of the land as it relates to soil and water conservation.
  • Provides services to farmers, homeowners, developers and others. Assists with drainage problems, ditch layout, erosion control, soils information, etc
  • Sponsors various school programs such as the Resource Conservation Workshop, Poster & Essay Contests, Environmental Awareness Field Day, Forestry Contest, Land Judging Contest, and the Coastal and State Enviorthon Competition.
Staff Consists of a District Administrator, District Technician, NRCS District Conservationist and NRCS Technician. Operating funds are provided by federal, state and county sources.
 Camden Supervisors 
 l to r: George Tarkington, Abner Wayne Staples, Don Lee Keaton
Board of Supervisors
  • Abner Wayne Staples, Chairman
  • Don Lee Keaton, Vice
  • Chairman 
  • George Tarkington, Sec/Treas 
  • Mark Powell
Office Staff
  • Brian Lannon, NCACSP Technician 
  • Doug Wassum, District Conservationist
 Office Locations
120 North Hwy 343
Camden, NC 27921
252-338-1919 ext. 262
Fax: 252-338-0277
1023-5 Hwy US 17 S,
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Contact Information
Brian Lannon email:

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm