About Kate

I am so excited to be starting another great year! This will be my tenth year at Merriam. I'm looking forward to getting to know all my new students! In the meantime, here's a little bit about me.

I live with my husband Sam, my 3 year old daughter Ellie and my 1 year old son Johnny. The kids will probably come for a visit to the class at some point! 

We also have two dogs, Izzi and Nino. They are crazy, but we love them! 

Reading is one of my favorite hobbies. I absolutely love getting lost in a book. My favorite genre is historical fiction, with fantasy a close second. Some of my favorite books and series include The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, A Wrinkle in Time, The Saxon Stories, and the Warlord Chronicles. One of my favorite things about being a teacher is getting great recommendations from students, so please let me know about any good books you have read lately!

Another favorite hobby of mine is being outdoors. I love camping and hiking, especially in the White Mountains in New Hampshire. My family has been going to the same campground there for five generations, and I have been there almost every summer of my life. It's my favorite place in the world! My favorite mountain to climb is Mt. Madison. Here are my kids this summer in Vermont when we camped there:


I love to travel! Getting to explore new places, meet new people, and try new food is something I really enjoy. One of my favorite places is Costa Rica. I have been twice, including one time when I got to go with other teachers to work with scientists studying soil and the habitats of living things on a coffee plantation. Here I am measuring some coffee plants, and digging a pit to look at erosion:

 

Some of my other hobbies are fishing, cooking, watching the Red Sox and the Bruins, and gardening. 

I'm looking forward to learning more about all of you!







Comments