School Committee‎ > ‎


Board Composition    

As per Section 1 of the Regional School Agreement:

  • The Regional School Committee shall consist of eleven (11) members, seven (7) residing in the Town of Acton and four (4) residing in the Town of Boxborough.
  • No fewer than four (4) members from Acton and no fewer than two (2) members from Boxborough must be present in order to constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.
  • On matters coming before the Committee, each member from Boxborough shall cast one vote and each member from Acton shall cast 2.5 votes. This weighted voting will be re-examined every ten (10) years, after the publication of the new federal census data to verify that the weighted voting is within DESE standards.

Contact the Committee 

Please send any or all members of the committee an email expressing your views on any of the issues before the committee and the community. Email messages sent to School Committee members become part of the public record per MGL: Chpt.66, Sec.10 Public Records Law

To send e-mail to all members of the Acton-Boxborough Regional (ABR) School Committee, use this e-mail address: The Superintendent and School Committee Secretary will receive any email sent to these addresses also. Email messages may be posted online with School Committee meeting materials including the author's name and town, unless otherwise requested. 

School Committee Members

Meet the Chair: 

Diane Baum
Term Expires: April 2021
Diane and her husband have lived in Acton since 1999 and have 3 children - one each in elementary, Jr. high, and high school.  She holds a B.A. from Scripps College in California, and a master's degree from Harvard University.  She is employed at The Children's Dyslexia Center in Woburn where she works 1:1 with children, teaches professional development workshops and supervises teachers who participate in the Center's Orton-Gillingham Certification program.  Prior to this, she was a writing instructor at Brandeis University.  As a volunteer, for many years she coordinated a health education panel presentation on breast and testicular cancer at many local high schools.  She currently does volunteer work for Communities for Restorative Justice here in Acton and The Federation of Children with Special Needs in their SESP program, which provides special education advocacy and IEP support in schools for students in state custody.  Diane was elected to the School Committee in March 2015. 

Other Current Members


Image result for Ginny Kremer acton
Ginny Kremer, Term Expires: April 2019 

Amy Krishnamurthy, Term Expires: April 2020
Amy was elected to the School Committee in April 2014. She served as chair for the 2017-2018 school year. Amy also serves on the board for the Acton-Boxborough Coalition for Healthy Youth (ABCHY). Amy is the mother of 4 boys in the Acton-Boxborough Regional School District. Her oldest is at the high school, and the other three are triplets at the junior high. Amy and her family moved to New England and Acton over 10 years ago. Before that time, they spend 10 years in the Silicon Valley, where Amy was a 4th and 5th grade teacher in the Palo Alto School District. Having grown up in Dallas, Texas, she is still learning to adjust to the harsh New England winters, but has managed to fall in love with the Red Sox and Patriots.

Maya Minkin, Term Expires: April 2020

Paul Murphy, Term Expires: April 2020

Paul has been a member of the Acton School Committee and Acton-Boxborough Regional School Committees since he was first elected to a 3-year term in April 2011. He also served on the interim regional school committee before being elected to a 3-year term on the ABRSC in 2014. Paul is this year's co-chair for Acton, and serves as the liaison to the Acton Board of Selectmen as well as the liaison to the newly merged Acton and Boxborough Special Education Parent Advisory Committee. He has two children in the District , Peter and Jenna, both of whom are awesome kids (you should meet them). Paul is a registered professional chemical engineer and is self-employed as an environmental consultant.

Angie Tso, Term Expires: April 2021

Eileen Zhang, Term Expires: April 2019

Eileen and her husband have lived in Acton since 2006 and have 3 children - one each in the High School, Junior High, and the Gates Elementary School.  Before joining the school committee, she was involved in a variety of volunteer work, including helping in the lower grade activities center, teaching Math Olympiad in the Elementary Enrichment Program, and helping with the Gates School fundraising. She has a Masters degree in Computer Science from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. After ten years of working for several software companies, Eileen decided to focus on children’s education and she now works part time for a tutoring center. Eileen was elected to the School Committee in April 2016.


Image may contain: 1 person, beard
Zhiyu Michael Bo, 
Term Expires: May 2020

Mary Brolin
Term Expires: May 2019

Mary F. Brolin, Ph.D., has lived in Boxborough, MA with her husband and two children for the past 13 years. Mary works at Brandeis University in the Institute for Behavioral Health within the Heller School where she conducts health services research and evaluations of community-based substance abuse prevention and treatment programs. She also teaches the Capstone seminar for all students in the Masters in Public Policy program. Mary has been very active in the community since moving to Boxborough. In 2004-2005, she served on Boxborough’s School Council. From 2005 to 2008 she was the President of the Parent, Teachers, Friends organization at Blanchard. In 2008, she began serving on the Boxborough School Committee and in 2012 she began serving on the Acton-Boxborough Regional School Committee. Mary has also served as a Trustee of the Sargent Memorial Library in Boxborough for eight years and is a Board member of the Sargent Memorial Library Foundation. Mary holds a Ph.D. from the Heller School for Social Policy and Management at Brandeis, a Master’s in Social Sciences from the University of Chicago, and a B.A. in Sociology from Boston College.

Adam Klein
Term Expires: May 2021
Tessa McKinley
Term Expires: May 2020

Tessa grew up in Acton and graduated from AB. She went on to earn her Bachelor's degree in sociology and education from Colby College. After working in a classroom for speech and language challenged children, Tessa earned her Master's in elementary education from Lesley University. She taught first grade for five years before having her children and becoming a full time mother. She has been on the board of the Blanchard PTF since her eldest entered school. Her first role was the arts enrichment chair and then as corresponding secretary and most recently as president. Tessa also served on Blanchard's school council for 5 years. Her two daughters are both currently at Blanchard but her eldest is moving on to the junior high next year. This summer marks her family's 10th anniversary as residents of Boxborough.

Election Information 

Interested in joining the committee? Each spring, one or two of the three-year terms is up for election in each town. Nomination papers can be obtained from your Town Clerk in Acton or Boxborough.